See other Lima properties

1900 Backpackers Hostel

Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Peru, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 75% from 21 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • staff was not helpful at the time i arrived, never showed me the facilities (kitchen, bathroom) when I asked what there was to do around they gave me the map and thats it. the next day it was fine, the manager was there so he helped me. noisy, but that is everywhere in lima
  • 60%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff was really friendly and understood English well. The lounge areas were big and the atmosphere was very welcoming and chill.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • They overcharged us. I paid a deposit online, and then when I paid, they used an excessively high conversion rate from the quoted USD price. Not impressed.
  • 57%
  • 20 May 2014 Colin
  • Shower it was realy bad. Hot water 10 min before it comes.
  • 69%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Jorge
  • This hostel has everything that you could need and would expect (plus some extras). What set it above the rest for me was the excellent staff and hospitable atmosphere. Great location too. I will certainly return. You will not be disappointed!
  • 86%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • good location,
  • 80%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • a typical hostel with a bed and a table/chair. no comfortable amenities but in a great location within walking distance to downtown attractions. location may be shady but lots of people and traffic so not too bad in terms of security. no elevator/escalator so need to tug your luggage upstairs. showers need updated to have more warm water. short stay only not advised for extended stay. there are other better options in downtown area.
  • 69%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my 4 day stay here. The staff was friendly and organized. Breakfast was 2 bread rolls, jelly, coffee, tea and juice. Which is not bad considering the price. Beds were warm and comfy. The only complaint would be the showers...I had to wait about 5 minutes for the water to warm up. Other than that...I would have to say not bad. It is in the center of Lima, which I loved since it made all of my destinations within walking distance. I enjoyed it better than the MiraFlores area.
  • 80%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Maria Elena USA
  • 1900 is awesome. Kindest staff I ever met! .the new bar is great. I´ll definitively stay there next time in Lima. See you soon!
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Richard Ecuador
  • This is probably the nicest hostel I've stayed in. The bedding was all brand new, and everything was super clean. The host was really helpful with giving us some places to walk to, there is a great restaurant, excellent drinks. Lovely colonial building in the historic centre of Lima.
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Esperanza Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »