See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 77% from 54 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel had exactly what we needed. The location was excellent and the staff were helpful. It was clean,and the price was okay. We would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Libby USA
  • It was a very nice experience
  • 100%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Francisco Brazil
  • Second time staying at 40 Berkley and again, I was not disappointed. Excellent location and an unbeatable price. I do wish that they still offered breakfast, but then again, you get what you paid for. Will be staying with them again in the future.
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's a very good deal for a place at the location!
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • Staff were helpful but not really friendly. I hated that corridors and rooms were carpeted, they were very dirty and smelled really bad. The room smelled of mold. Beds were not comfortable. Also the wi-fi connection went down and they took three days to repair it. Since they don't have free access computers, I had no Internet access during my whole stay, and they offered no compensation whatsoever for failing to provide a service they advertised in their website. I would not recommend it
  • 46%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Rodrigo Argentina
  • They do not have reading lights in the room as they have advertised. We need to read or work in the hall.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great, clean, place with a great view!
  • 94%
  • 28 Nov 2014 William USA
  • I had a private room. The common areas seemed very nice, staff was friendly and helpful, location is good. My room was not up to the usual hostel standard for the price.. The bed was just a crappy cot, no air con, no TV, the website says cable TV which I take to mean a TV in the room which is common at many hostels. The bathrooms were gross and badly in need of renovation. One of the two showers was broken at least the entire time I was there and general cleanliness was pretty poor.
  • 60%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Dan Canada
  • The room was spartan, but the view from the 6th Floor was wonderful. I already recommended the hostel to my friends.
  • 71%
  • 20 Sep 2014 William USA
  • The room was quite simple. Unfortunately we did not have a sink in our room.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Hannah Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »