See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 77% from 43 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the hostel should emphases that there is no air conditioner in the room
  • 69%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Had to stay overnight in Boston, because of flight schedule. Hotels were sold out or over $300 a nite, so we tried 40 Berkeley. This was our first hostel experience and other than no air and just a ceiling fan in hot weather, it went well. The room was clean, comfortable bed and soft sheets, and bathroom convenient and clean. Good location for what we wanted to do, and easy access to the subway. The front desk man, and I didn't get his name, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
  • 69%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Linda USA
  • The communal area and reception area were fine but there was no effort made to make the rooms welcoming at all. They were monk like in their austerity. From our room the bathroom/shower was some way away and serviced too many rooms for only 1 shower and 1 toilet.
  • 66%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • We had a private twin room for three nights, and while the hostel common areas were nice and spacious, the room and corridors smelled like an old hospital and the towels were not very nice. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay as far as budget accomodations go. I wouldn't recommend it for a cosy getaway or anything like that, but as a backpacker or something it's alright. Everyone should just remember to bring shower shoes and their own towels.
  • 69%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Malin Sweden
  • The hostel was clean, good located, and the Atmosphere is very good. However it doesn't offer breakfast, and the value is a little expensive. All the same, I recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Natalia Brazil
  • Please offer breakfast again, there are other hostels better located and same price which offer this common service
  • 83%
  • 17 Mar 2015 emmanuel Argentina
  • The rooms are small, but good for the money. The bathrooms are really the only complaint that my group had. For an entire floor it seems like the bathrooms have 2 showers, 1 urinal in the mens room, and 2 stalls. A floor has approximately 20 rooms (conservative estimate) and they can have anywhere from 1-4 people, so waiting for showers in the morning is a potential issue... Luckily the floor was fairly empty so it wasn't a huge problem.
  • 77%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The room was far too hot. Even with the ceiling fan on,I was going to bed naked,lying on top of the sheets. Took me ages to get to sleep because of this. Tried to turn the radiator down but it didn't. Didn't think I'd be Sweating in bed with 6 feet of snow outside!
  • 74%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Thomas
  • Good location, great price with above average facilities.
  • 80%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Leah Canada
  • This hostel had exactly what we needed. The location was excellent and the staff were helpful. It was clean,and the price was okay. We would definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Libby USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »