See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 80% from 64 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Paid 120 $ per night to stay in a shabby, tiny single room, where the ceiling fan didn't provide much relief of the sauna temperatures. I'm not exaggerating. Worst value for money I ever got.
  • 46%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Milan Croatia
  • Well, let me tell u my story. That wasn't great start of my visiting in Boston from first day, cause my valet got stolen in metro.Front desk was very helpful!They took care of me in 2 days of staying in their hotel.Guys borrow me money, cause it was Sunday and banks was closed, they call to another hotel and cancel a reservation for me, they was worry more than my "super friends" did who supposed to met me in Boston.I wanna thank to the manager, acian girl and gentleman who works nights ^_^
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Feride Ukraine
  • This was my favourite place I stayed on my travels. 40 Berkeley doesn't deserve to be called a hostel it felt so much better than one ! The facilities, the comfort and the helpfulness were great and made such a positive impact on my stay. I would recommend this to students traveling but also families wanting to stay somewhere cheaper than a hotel ! It's perfect :)
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Ciara Ireland
  • I have stayed here for two times now. The experience has been the same both times. It's absolutely great value. Basic, secure and clean. Not much else to say. Thanks!
  • 86%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Elias Finland
  • Really bad experience was happy when I got out of there earlier than I had to was evacuated due to fire alarms twice in the first two days the second was left out of my room for over two hours then when returned had no power for over an hour to which there was no compensation given. Not really close to anything and found staff a little hard to deal with
  • 34%
  • 10 Aug 2014 cameron Australia
  • helpful and friendly staff, great location, comfy rooms with microwaves, fridge and sink (private room)
  • 91%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • For the money it's a bad value. I've stayed at much nicer hostels in San Francisco for even cheaper. No ac at all during summertime is a miserable stat. Crappy fans and ventilation. Really crappy prison bed. And no amenities at all in the shower. You literally have to buy almost everything except toilet paper for your stay.
  • 46%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was great - however, I moved my bed just forjn a different position and underneath it on the floor was a big blob (the size of an apple) of blue hair gel (?) So obviously no one looked, or cleaned, under the bed.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Jeffery USA
  • No air conditioning in the rooms, and the elevator broke while I was staying there. I thought the elevator was going to drop while I was in it-very old. It stayed broken for two days. 2 of 4 washers were broken. When key was left at the front desk, they just gave you the key if you said the room number without any ID check. It was nice that they had a stamp vending thing though. Easy to send postcards. And 5 minute walk to the station was very nice. The rooms smelled like molded wood.
  • 46%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It seems like everything is expensive in Boston, in terms of places to stay. According to that, I found a single bedroom with a pretty confortable bed in a decently wide room for around 100$. Everything is OK.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Raphael Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »