See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 79% from 71 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Front desk staff was very welcoming. I really appreciated the tray of cookies. Everyone was extremely patient with my repeated requests for directions. The bathroom was clean and the public areas were bright and cheerful. I liked that there was a wide selection of books in the library area. Although I didn't use it, the media room looked like it had comfortable seats and there were dvds available to borrow.
  • 91%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Terri USA
  • I love 40 Berkeley!!!!! We came to Boston to visit our friend, but he missed the bus of his school. We tried to explain this to one of the staff, and she was soooooo nice and let him stay with us without any charge!!!! The breakfast was really good, too. We both like the sausage and the hot chocolate. There is a cafe called "Billy" near to this hostel, and I fully recommend the waffle! Best breakfast in Boston!!
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • This place has a decent location but not much else. It's overpriced (way more than hostel prices!) The facilities feel outdated and smell bad. All that's included is one meager comforter and a small towel; no in-room fridge or wardrobe. The place is acceptable if you absolutely need a place to stay, but by no means enjoyable.
  • 51%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Conveniently located. Nice staff. Excellent facilities.
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We really enjoyed our stay at 40 Berkeley hostel. We checked out at 11 but our bus left at midnight so they let us storage our luggage at the reception. Really nice staff and great breakfast. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Martin Argentina
  • was very loud in the hallways at night and early morning, lost of slamming doors
  • 66%
  • 11 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was amazing, and huge. Has everything. The only problem i found was the small room. It's better get 2 room for 2 than 1 for 4 and cost more or less the same.
  • 89%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Martha Argentina
  • the staff was very helpful. it would help a lot if the hostel had shuttle from the airport for a fee. the room was too far from the bathroom. otherwise all good.
  • 86%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • great breakfast with warm and cold food and all kind of beverages for everyone. the room was very simple but good enough for me. the staff is very helpful and friendly. the place was around 20-30min walking distance away from most of the stiff that I wanted to visit.also it is just a few meters away from the amtrak train station and aroind 17dollar from tje airport if you take a cap
  • 83%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Meike Germany
  • the decoration in the room should renew
  • 66%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »