See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 79% from 55 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a private room. The common areas seemed very nice, staff was friendly and helpful, location is good. My room was not up to the usual hostel standard for the price.. The bed was just a crappy cot, no air con, no TV, the website says cable TV which I take to mean a TV in the room which is common at many hostels. The bathrooms were gross and badly in need of renovation. One of the two showers was broken at least the entire time I was there and general cleanliness was pretty poor.
  • 60%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Dan Canada
  • The room was spartan, but the view from the 6th Floor was wonderful. I already recommended the hostel to my friends.
  • 71%
  • 20 Sep 2014 William USA
  • The room was quite simple. Unfortunately we did not have a sink in our room.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Hannah Germany
  • The good thing about this hostel is that it doesn't look like one. We were given everything we'd asked for. The room was ok, quite clean and neat for a hostel. It's a pity you can't get coffee from the coffee machine after 5 p.m. Thanks, Berkeley Hostel!
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Paid 120 $ per night to stay in a shabby, tiny single room, where the ceiling fan didn't provide much relief of the sauna temperatures. I'm not exaggerating. Worst value for money I ever got.
  • 46%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Milan Croatia
  • Well, let me tell u my story. That wasn't great start of my visiting in Boston from first day, cause my valet got stolen in metro.Front desk was very helpful!They took care of me in 2 days of staying in their hotel.Guys borrow me money, cause it was Sunday and banks was closed, they call to another hotel and cancel a reservation for me, they was worry more than my "super friends" did who supposed to met me in Boston.I wanna thank to the manager, acian girl and gentleman who works nights ^_^
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Feride Ukraine
  • This was my favourite place I stayed on my travels. 40 Berkeley doesn't deserve to be called a hostel it felt so much better than one ! The facilities, the comfort and the helpfulness were great and made such a positive impact on my stay. I would recommend this to students traveling but also families wanting to stay somewhere cheaper than a hotel ! It's perfect :)
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Ciara Ireland
  • I have stayed here for two times now. The experience has been the same both times. It's absolutely great value. Basic, secure and clean. Not much else to say. Thanks!
  • 86%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Elias Finland
  • Really bad experience was happy when I got out of there earlier than I had to was evacuated due to fire alarms twice in the first two days the second was left out of my room for over two hours then when returned had no power for over an hour to which there was no compensation given. Not really close to anything and found staff a little hard to deal with
  • 34%
  • 10 Aug 2014 cameron Australia
  • helpful and friendly staff, great location, comfy rooms with microwaves, fridge and sink (private room)
  • 91%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »