See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 80% from 62 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No air conditioning in the rooms, and the elevator broke while I was staying there. I thought the elevator was going to drop while I was in it-very old. It stayed broken for two days. 2 of 4 washers were broken. When key was left at the front desk, they just gave you the key if you said the room number without any ID check. It was nice that they had a stamp vending thing though. Easy to send postcards. And 5 minute walk to the station was very nice. The rooms smelled like molded wood.
  • 46%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It seems like everything is expensive in Boston, in terms of places to stay. According to that, I found a single bedroom with a pretty confortable bed in a decently wide room for around 100$. Everything is OK.
  • 69%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Raphael Switzerland
  • Fun place to stay and get to know Boston. The staff were helpful, friendly and knew what they were talking about. I also was surprised by the included breakfast. Hot! I also was able to borrow a hair dryer and use am IPad for free! I would for sure stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Facilities such as the lounges were excellent. The outside courtyard is particularly lovely to sit in when the weather is good. Nice tv room and good selection of books to borrow. Reception staff very helpful. Twin room on third floor had not been refurbished and was as basic as they come. Just a few more small additions would make the rooms so much nicer ."... A bedside lamp, a few hooks on the wall to hang damp towels, are two such examples. Ladies bathroom on 3rd floor not adequate.
  • 83%
  • 17 May 2014 Carole England
  • very good hostel. free stabucks coffee and popcorn untill 5pm. staff were friendly. near the Back bay subway station.
  • 94%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Front desk staff was very welcoming. I really appreciated the tray of cookies. Everyone was extremely patient with my repeated requests for directions. The bathroom was clean and the public areas were bright and cheerful. I liked that there was a wide selection of books in the library area. Although I didn't use it, the media room looked like it had comfortable seats and there were dvds available to borrow.
  • 91%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Terri USA
  • I love 40 Berkeley!!!!! We came to Boston to visit our friend, but he missed the bus of his school. We tried to explain this to one of the staff, and she was soooooo nice and let him stay with us without any charge!!!! The breakfast was really good, too. We both like the sausage and the hot chocolate. There is a cafe called "Billy" near to this hostel, and I fully recommend the waffle! Best breakfast in Boston!!
  • 100%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • This place has a decent location but not much else. It's overpriced (way more than hostel prices!) The facilities feel outdated and smell bad. All that's included is one meager comforter and a small towel; no in-room fridge or wardrobe. The place is acceptable if you absolutely need a place to stay, but by no means enjoyable.
  • 51%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Conveniently located. Nice staff. Excellent facilities.
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We really enjoyed our stay at 40 Berkeley hostel. We checked out at 11 but our bus left at midnight so they let us storage our luggage at the reception. Really nice staff and great breakfast. Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Martin Argentina
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »