See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 77% from 53 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff were helpful but not really friendly. I hated that corridors and rooms were carpeted, they were very dirty and smelled really bad. The room smelled of mold. Beds were not comfortable. Also the wi-fi connection went down and they took three days to repair it. Since they don't have free access computers, I had no Internet access during my whole stay, and they offered no compensation whatsoever for failing to provide a service they advertised in their website. I would not recommend it
  • 46%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Rodrigo Argentina
  • They do not have reading lights in the room as they have advertised. We need to read or work in the hall.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • Great, clean, place with a great view!
  • 94%
  • 28 Nov 2014 William USA
  • It is very quiet and clean hostel. It is good for budget travellers. It is a recommendable plae.
  • 83%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It is clean and quiet place. I stayed here for 2 nights with 2 other friends, Staffs seemed to pretty nice. And location was good. It is close from a metro station, If I visit in the city again, I will definitely stay here again.
  • 83%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I had a private room. The common areas seemed very nice, staff was friendly and helpful, location is good. My room was not up to the usual hostel standard for the price.. The bed was just a crappy cot, no air con, no TV, the website says cable TV which I take to mean a TV in the room which is common at many hostels. The bathrooms were gross and badly in need of renovation. One of the two showers was broken at least the entire time I was there and general cleanliness was pretty poor.
  • 60%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Dan Canada
  • The room was spartan, but the view from the 6th Floor was wonderful. I already recommended the hostel to my friends.
  • 71%
  • 20 Sep 2014 William USA
  • The room was quite simple. Unfortunately we did not have a sink in our room.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Hannah Germany
  • The good thing about this hostel is that it doesn't look like one. We were given everything we'd asked for. The room was ok, quite clean and neat for a hostel. It's a pity you can't get coffee from the coffee machine after 5 p.m. Thanks, Berkeley Hostel!
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Paid 120 $ per night to stay in a shabby, tiny single room, where the ceiling fan didn't provide much relief of the sauna temperatures. I'm not exaggerating. Worst value for money I ever got.
  • 46%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Milan Croatia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »