See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 81% from 61 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It would be helpful to include information on the website, that the hostel offers no parking, and show on a map where the garages are and how much they cost. Great breakfast!
  • 83%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Amy USA
  • This was the perfect place to stay! A friend and I took needed to make a last minute reservation and every hotel was 3x the price of the hostel. As first time visitors to Boston, we had no idea where to start and the front desk staff at 40Berkley were awesome with perfect advice for touring. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night here rather than the full 4 days were in Boston. The location was also convenient, with an enjoyable walk to Boston Commons or T stations.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Callie USA
  • This is the worst hostel I've ever been. Our room was very dirty, noisy and old. The shared bathroom was disgusting. I can't recommend this hostel.
  • 46%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Ainara
  • Location is good, about 15 mins talk to downtown, breakfast is good, room is old, facilities are poor, is a good place to stay when you travel budget.
  • 66%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous China
  • It was really great, well run place. Perfect location.
  • 89%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • great place
  • 100%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • my stay here is very happy, staffs helped us a lot about visiting city. but the room it's a little noisy, i can here what the neighboring house saying.
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2013 DEFEN China
  • We shared for 2 nights. We had a very comfortable double room. We were extremely impressed. Really good basic accommodation. Lovely staff!
  • 97%
  • 15 Sep 2013 John England
  • nice place to stay in Boston. Situated in the Southend of Bosten, subway is 10 minutes away. American breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. Noisy traffic in front of the hostel. i can recommend the 40berkeley.
  • 80%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Ronald Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »