See other Boston properties

40 Berkeley Hostel

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 79% from 64 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was upset for the fact that I was charged for two people although it was only me staying in the room. I don't think it's fair to charge a single person for a double room. The staff was friendly. It helped being able to purchase tickets at the front desk for tourist activities. Too many young people stayed here at the same time I was here which made it unpleasant at night. They were noisy and obnoxious. The cookies at the desk were a nice touch. I wouldn't stay here again - just not my style.
  • 60%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Shante USA
  • The rooms were very Spartan and a little cold, but clean. The bathrooms were very clean. The only negative was that one of the elevators was broken, so there was some waiting to get to our rooms.
  • 97%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Shane USA
  • Very good people workiing there. Very professional
  • 91%
  • 12 Nov 2013 veronica USA
  • This was my first hostel but the place seemed pretty good, especially for the price and location. It was a fun little place and the staff was really nice.
  • 80%
  • 10 Nov 2013 Cory USA
  • Great location, friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again...
  • 89%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Maryann USA
  • Great lobby area. Room was clean. Bathroom overall was clean but definitely needs some work.
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Binh USA
  • its nice.....everything is ok.
  • 86%
  • 22 Oct 2013 pratibha India
  • It would be helpful to include information on the website, that the hostel offers no parking, and show on a map where the garages are and how much they cost. Great breakfast!
  • 83%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Amy USA
  • This was the perfect place to stay! A friend and I took needed to make a last minute reservation and every hotel was 3x the price of the hostel. As first time visitors to Boston, we had no idea where to start and the front desk staff at 40Berkley were awesome with perfect advice for touring. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night here rather than the full 4 days were in Boston. The location was also convenient, with an enjoyable walk to Boston Commons or T stations.
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Callie USA
  • This is the worst hostel I've ever been. Our room was very dirty, noisy and old. The shared bathroom was disgusting. I can't recommend this hostel.
  • 46%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Ainara
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »