See other Hamburg properties

A&O Hamburg City

Spaldingstrasse 160, Hamburg, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 74% from 14 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We added another night to our stay and the reception wasn't able to let us stay in our current room. So we had to pack everything up, come back in the evening to move to our new room, were given the wrong room keys and had to wait at the reception again (very long wait times at the reception..). We were not offered any compensation. I realize this is not a hotel, but you would think staying another night is a pretty standard request.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • A bit far from central Hamburg, and lacked some of the cozy atmosphere a smaller hostel can provide.
  • 86%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • The hostel is fine, clean and nice, definitely I would recommend it. I only had a problem with the other guests of my room, I experienced a really violent situation, due to a failure in the security in the night shift. The manager understood this, offered a refund and said he will take care of it.
  • 69%
  • 31 May 2014 Federico Germany
  • The hostel is quite far from the city center and also from the train station. No easy public transit. I stayed there only because there was not much else available. On Saturday there was a big group playing pool, enjoying a football game, that's all right, but next morning at 11am the floor was still covered with sticky beer and it was quite dirty. You need to pay for the linens (they say on the website that it is included).
  • 54%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is 10 minutes walking from the railway station, not too far away, but the area is not really nice
  • 63%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • Good points 1. Staff is really helpful. 2. Easy check-in with 24 hours reception facility. We were late to enter into the hostel, but they supported us to check-in. Bad Points 1. Hidden cost for Bed sheets/ Towels.. which increased our budget. The amount asked for was substantially high.
  • 63%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous India
  • Very nice, very clean and big rooms, sometimes with 2 bathrooms! (one with shower, one with toilet, but both with sink) Unfortunately not very central, but close to the bus station and to the S-/U-bahn.
  • 77%
  • 14 Sep 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • I would very much like to have hot breakfast... at same cost I can be well fed in other places.
  • 77%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »