See other Vienna properties

A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 74% from 11 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not key box for everybody. Very cleaness. Very reach breakfast.
  • 80%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Roman Czech Republic
  • I was about to stay for one night in the A&O Hostel in Vienna, waiting for my transfer at 7.15 in the morning. Because of the building sites and the poor labeling, I spend 2 hours in the cold Vienna evening looking for the hostel. No one answered my phone calls. When I finally found it, it was situated way not as shown on the map; I had 3 hours left to my train back, so the staff was at least that kind to just let me stay in the lobby. I'm traveling for 10 years alone, scariest experience ever.
  • 51%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • It is very clean and near to the main train station. However, it was a bit far from the city center. But location is acceptable.
  • 77%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
  • No w-fi in rooms!
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Ukraine
  • The hostel is kind of hard to find because there are a lot of constructions around and the location wasn't shown at the GPS with latest Navteq maps. The whole place was very quiet and the room was cleaned. The only unpleasant thing was, that although the room is non-smoking the bathroom was full of cigarette smoke and the ventilation didn't work. Bet we found that in the morning after the first night (of 2) so we didn't hassle with changing the room.
  • 66%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The staff were nice but overworked and unable to accommodate the customers who were waiting to be checked in and at the bar waiting for drinks, food, snacks, etc. You will be asked if you need sheets which they charge you for. Keep in mind that the room already has a nice comforter and pillow/pillowcase. If you can sleep with just a comforter then don't buy the sheets.
  • 80%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This is not a hostel, this is a hotel with hostel style rooms, has a family atmosphere with kids and stuff, otherwise it is nice enough with a bar. Terrible directions for getting there.
  • 54%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Stayed for 3 nights in a 4 bed room, at $20 CAD per night. First night I was with 2 people, second and third night I had the room to myself. Room was large, cleaned daily, fresh towels daily, bathroom was large and clean. Shower worked very well. Felt like I was staying at a hotel for the price of a cheap hostel. Room requires a key card to get in, and there are lockers in the room. 24/7 lobby bar that serves drinks and some meals (pizza). Good location, close to several excellent restaurants.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »