See other Vienna properties

A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof

Sonnwendgasse 11, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 2.3km

Rating: 74% from 20 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had already paid for my all-female dorm bed, and set up all my things in the room, when suddenly a guy walks in. Turns out they "don't have any female dorm beds available after all", and the receptionist is busy booking a bunch of asylum seekers in the rooms, and I overhear her saying they don't need to tell their home address "because there are no streets in Bagdad." It seemed to me like they were trying to make a quick extra buck by "accidentally" turning the female dorms into a mixed dorms
  • 34%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Good place. Kind staff. Beds were good clean blanket, good wall locker.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • One of the worst hostels for customer service I've had so far. From the moment I checked in everyone I spoke to was surly and rude. I ended up having to check out in the middle of the night because of how hot my room got. It was pretty cold outside, so I assumed that they accidentally had a heater running and went down to tell them, but the representative working could not have cared less, so I hung out in the lobby all night. I will stay far away from this chain in the future.
  • 63%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Laura Canada
  • When you go into the A&O Hostel in Vienna you can see that you're in a chain/budget hostel. There is pretty much none of atmosphere unless you're into watching sports in the hostels lounge. Also the staff was very slow on their work compared to the other hostels we've been. Still, location is excellent for quick stay in Vienna and it's easy to get around the area by just walking to the central station.
  • 71%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Teemu Finland
  • Very good location near the central train station, supermarket right beside it. The room was really cute and clean. The only thing to complain was that the shower drain was clogged full of hair... It was a female dorm, maybe they should clean it more often. And internet was really bad inside the rooms.
  • 86%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Carolina Brazil
  • Decent place in a good location-but the hostel seemed to be a lot of nickeling and diming-even getting linens and using a credit card necessitated paying extra.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jul 2015 David USA
  • It is close to the centre but from the wrong side , the only close thing is the bus staion. No close resterant or any place to sit and drink, My roomettes were living in the hostel for 2 month and the room looks like there apartment , didn't feel safe .
  • 69%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Itchak Germany
  • like a hotel
  • 80%
  • 20 Dec 2014 CALIN GEORGE Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »