See other Venice properties

A Venice Fish

Campo de la Maddalena, Cannaregio 2205, Venice, Italy, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 62% from 14 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 52%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was a great surprise to strart my trip. The location is excelent, just in the midle between the S.Lucia train station and the S.Marco square. The hostel itself had all the comodities a traveler can ask for. So I would like to highlight the staff that works there are awsome, very knowlageble, friendly, joined in on the hostle fun. A Venice Fish is an ideal hostel for those who seek a social enviroment on their stay in Venice! Their dinner for 5 euros is also a good idea for any butget!
  • 89%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Eduardas Lithuania
  • Infested with bed bugs, avoid this place.
  • 40%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Jacob USA
  • The hostel was very unclean. Two of our number contracted eye infections which we suspect came from this place. The bathrooms were gross - the sinks didn't drain, and the floors were always wet and dirty. Also, the staff was unprofessional, and nothing was secure - some of the rooms were adjoining and there was no lock. I would not recommend this place.
  • 46%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Staff was conveniently absent when I went to check out to get my deposit back, and seemingly non-existent because the place was just gross. The bathrooms were disgusting at best and partly working. There was no toilet paper. The beds were scary. And the worst part was that I woke up with no less than 200 bug bites on me. I had to go to the pharmacy to get medication, my body was on fire. My upper arms were both covered, completely red. My legs were covered and swollen. DO NOT STAY HERE!!
  • 29%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Sara USA
  • Location is good. But that's the only thing. The beds are super uncomfortable and a little scary while sleeping on the bottom bunk, it's really hot, the bathrooms are disgusting at best and there's never toilet paper, the wifi doesn't work, I woke up covered in bug bites, and there was conveniently no one available to take my key and return my deposit. So they ended up keeping that too. It is DEFINITELY not worth the money AT ALL. I wouldn't stay there again for a penny. Find somewhere else.
  • 31%
  • 02 Jun 2015 Sara USA
  • Really loved the staff - fun, informative, engaged. We didn't take part in the dinner or the movies, but they sounded fun (we were out with our parents), though we went out with all the people after hours and had a terrific time. The beds were not very good, but we didn't expect a great room. Since we were traveling with our parents, who stayed elsewhere, we didn't get the full flavor of the hostel, but we enjoyed ourselves.
  • 71%
  • 22 May 2015 Richard USA
  • I've been traveling europe for several months and this is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. The staff was so warm and friendly. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I had an amazing weekend and they definitely added top my venice experience!!
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect for young and energetic people. We get to know each other at the table and went out with everybody. You can buy dinner for 5 euros with everyone and its simply pasta but its good with the price and amount, Its like a big dinner with the folks. And the best service was, next day in the morning first floor was flooded about 20 cm deep, the guy who works there carried us on his back to the main door!
  • 97%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Fatih Turkey
  • Awesome hostel and staff! A really communal atmosphere and very easy to meet other travellers in the common room and around the dinner table. I had such a fun time here, Nick took us out everynight and showed us to the student areas for drinks in the evenings. Nick even offered a piggy back service across the flooded basement when there was high water!! Thanks for the great memories!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Emma Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »