See other New Orleans properties

AAE Bourbon House Hostel

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 76% from 39 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Quite awful. Very dirty, no lockers, few bathrooms/showers, could feel the springs in the mattress, loud, light in the room stopped working, only one outlet in the whole room, possum was often on the porch eating out of the trash. The lack of cleanliness was the worst, looked like it hadn't had a good cleaning in years. After one night I couldn't wait to get out of there. The staff was nice at least, seemed like they were trying to overcompensate for the awful conditions.
  • 31%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Laura USA
  • If you need a bed for the night and a shower in the morning, this hostel is fine. If you want a hostel experience, go somewhere else. STAFF ARE GREAT! Friendly, helpful. I stay in hostels a lot and enjoy the many opportunities to meet other travelers. The set-up of this one made that pretty difficult. Even the bed wasn't that great.
  • 51%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Jeanie USA
  • Helpful staff
  • 66%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Caleb was an excellent person to ask questions to or just to chat with.
  • 77%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Security: the front door occasionally didn't lock, and the morning (at 3 am) I was leaving it was simply ajar. Staff: Caleb and Mary were great! The only tables people can sit at are in the patio, where there is usually someone smoking. Facilities: one of the showers did not have warm (much less hot) water. One of the toilets didn't work the whole time I was there (four days). If not cloth towels, at the very least they should have paper towels for drying one's hands by the sink.
  • 60%
  • 23 Oct 2014 David Costa Rica
  • Terrible wifi. Would have stayed longer of not for the wifi.
  • 51%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Kate Australia
  • Great place to stay nice,friendly,knowledgable staff great location.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Christopher USA
  • Awesome hostel, clean and definitely worth it for the price!
  • 83%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Frederic Germany
  • Be ready to hear "What's up? Checking in? Cool!" when you will arrive.
  • 80%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Mikhail Russia
  • Had a great stay in this hostel, atmosphere was amazing. Staff were also very friendly. Caleb was awesome, really knowledgeable and would go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. This man deserves a pay rise!!!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jed Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »