See other New Orleans properties

AAE Bourbon House Hostel

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 78% from 41 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Security: the front door occasionally didn't lock, and the morning (at 3 am) I was leaving it was simply ajar. Staff: Caleb and Mary were great! The only tables people can sit at are in the patio, where there is usually someone smoking. Facilities: one of the showers did not have warm (much less hot) water. One of the toilets didn't work the whole time I was there (four days). If not cloth towels, at the very least they should have paper towels for drying one's hands by the sink.
  • 60%
  • 23 Oct 2014 David Costa Rica
  • Terrible wifi. Would have stayed longer of not for the wifi.
  • 51%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Kate Australia
  • Great place to stay nice,friendly,knowledgable staff great location.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Christopher USA
  • Awesome hostel, clean and definitely worth it for the price!
  • 83%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Frederic Germany
  • Be ready to hear "What's up? Checking in? Cool!" when you will arrive.
  • 80%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Mikhail Russia
  • Had a great stay in this hostel, atmosphere was amazing. Staff were also very friendly. Caleb was awesome, really knowledgeable and would go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. This man deserves a pay rise!!!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jed Australia
  • You can't judge Bourbon House on its first impression (the location and outside are a bit dodgy) but the staff are lovely. The beds are comfy and there's lots of clean bathrooms. I got eaten alive by mosquito's outside but it's a great place to socialise with everyone else over breakfast (free pancakes) or a night out on Frenchman Street.Every day they have a board of gigs around town and they will give you a ride to the Greyhound when it's time to go.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Staff is extremely nice and friendly. We watched the WC '14 together, was really fun. Other then that a decent Hostel in a good location close to bourbon (Bus or Cab ~$10). Would def. recommend it!
  • 74%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Lars USA
  • This place is amazing! A must stay while in new Orleans! Woohoo!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very close to the beautiful Garden District and the shops on Magazine Street, hostel is a bit basic though and covered in bugs! Don't stay here if you can't deal with creepy crawlies. Thankfully it didn't bother us, but it would creep a lot of people out. The bathrooms were all ridiculously hot as well, like pass-out hot. Didn't seem to be any reason for it. Everyone was really nice though, and helpful, full of recommendations.
  • 74%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »