See other New Orleans properties

AAE Bourbon House Hostel

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 80% from 52 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Be ready to hear "What's up? Checking in? Cool!" when you will arrive.
  • 80%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Mikhail Russia
  • Had a great stay in this hostel, atmosphere was amazing. Staff were also very friendly. Caleb was awesome, really knowledgeable and would go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. This man deserves a pay rise!!!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jed Australia
  • You can't judge Bourbon House on its first impression (the location and outside are a bit dodgy) but the staff are lovely. The beds are comfy and there's lots of clean bathrooms. I got eaten alive by mosquito's outside but it's a great place to socialise with everyone else over breakfast (free pancakes) or a night out on Frenchman Street.Every day they have a board of gigs around town and they will give you a ride to the Greyhound when it's time to go.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Staff is extremely nice and friendly. We watched the WC '14 together, was really fun. Other then that a decent Hostel in a good location close to bourbon (Bus or Cab ~$10). Would def. recommend it!
  • 74%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Lars USA
  • This place is amazing! A must stay while in new Orleans! Woohoo!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very close to the beautiful Garden District and the shops on Magazine Street, hostel is a bit basic though and covered in bugs! Don't stay here if you can't deal with creepy crawlies. Thankfully it didn't bother us, but it would creep a lot of people out. The bathrooms were all ridiculously hot as well, like pass-out hot. Didn't seem to be any reason for it. Everyone was really nice though, and helpful, full of recommendations.
  • 74%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • KITCHIN SHOULD BE OPEND AT 6AM. PICK UP/SEND BACK DRIVE SERVICE IS VERY GOOD.
  • 71%
  • 12 May 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • This place was ok, it was a little dirty (a bug on the wall near my room that was there the entire time I was there) and the floors in the bathroom were off but it was not a bad place to stay. Staff was very helpful.
  • 63%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's a home away from home. Walking distance to Walmart, different bars and restaurants, Convention Center, and French Quarter area. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. And most of all, you get more than your money's worth. I definitely recommend this place!
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Gil Philippines
  • This is a SUPER LOUD hostel. Come here if you want to party. Don't come here if you want to sleep. No one enforces any quiet hours or quiet spaces, and people party in all parts of the hostel at all hours (4am? Yep.) Also, just because you're booked in a female dorm doesn't mean you'll get one; they mix genders in rooms whenever there is a "shortage," regardless of your preferences or what you paid for.
    Owner Comment

    Please see your reservation for the rooms that you booked. You reserved a female dorm for your first night and a mixed dorm the second night of your stay. Due to the busy, French Quarter Fest weekend, the designated female dorm was purposely switched into a mixed dorm for the weekend. Ultimately it prevented you from having to switch any rooms, however we DID NOT have any designated female dorms for the busy weekend. There was never a shortage, your reservation was correct. Thanks

  • 57%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »