See other New Orleans properties

AAE Bourbon House Hostel

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 83% from 58 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is a SUPER LOUD hostel. Come here if you want to party. Don't come here if you want to sleep. No one enforces any quiet hours or quiet spaces, and people party in all parts of the hostel at all hours (4am? Yep.) Also, just because you're booked in a female dorm doesn't mean you'll get one; they mix genders in rooms whenever there is a "shortage," regardless of your preferences or what you paid for.
    Owner Comment

    Please see your reservation for the rooms that you booked. You reserved a female dorm for your first night and a mixed dorm the second night of your stay. Due to the busy, French Quarter Fest weekend, the designated female dorm was purposely switched into a mixed dorm for the weekend. Ultimately it prevented you from having to switch any rooms, however we DID NOT have any designated female dorms for the busy weekend. There was never a shortage, your reservation was correct. Thanks

  • 57%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome staff. Best hostel in the city.
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 David Canada
  • very nice and helpful staff
  • 74%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • This place was great value! I definitely would return.
  • 97%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Joshua USA
  • "Breakfast included" means making pancakes for yourself. There are a lot of college students, probably because we are travelling during spring break. The rooms do not isolate noise very well, and we can clearly hear noise from outside inside our room. The staff is very nice. We need to take a bus to get to the French Quarter, and it is not safe to walk back home at night because the area is not well lit.
  • 60%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Ryan was amazingly helpful and kind. Really great host
  • 94%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Birch USA
  • The hostel is an great location and very well set up. It was pretty busy, but still had no trouble getting checked in and set up. rented a couple locks for the lockers to keep stuff in. I've lived there before so I didn't ask the staff for much info, but the info I heard them give others was pretty spot on. House was a bit musty, but the weather was alternating from freezing to almost 80 in the same week, so I think that might have had something to do with it. Overall an excellent value.
  • 94%
  • 09 Jan 2014 David USA
  • Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Had a clean room and bathrooms, and spaces to hang out in. I had a good experience and would stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Kurt USA
  • I show up and the guy asks if I just arrived in the city. I say no, I spent a night at a different hostel because AAE wasn't free the first night. Once I tell him the name of my hostel he tells me I can't stay at AAE because they don't take transfers from certain other hostels due to bed bugs. That is fair. JUST PUT THAT IN YOUR DESCRIPTION SO PEOPLE KNOW! Go to India House instead. Cool place with cool people!
  • 20%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Thanks a lot, guys! it was a blast. will definitely come back to visit
  • 97%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »