See other New Orleans properties

AAE Bourbon House Hostel

1660 Annunciation Street, Amtrack GreyHound Location, New Orleans, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 80% from 48 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel for the price, in a nice but quiet part of town. Easy walk to the trolley, friendly and knowledgeable staff, the dorms are very dark, and the doubles are spacious and nice. My only complaint is that there are not enough bathrooms for the number of people this place holds, especially in the morning.
  • 83%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely loved the stay. Great like minded people out for a great experience!
  • 97%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Justin USA
  • I had a good stay there as I had a good group on my room. Room was very dark even in mornings which is good for sleeping but bad if you want to get up. Bit of a walk to public transport but excellent service from employees to provide a shuttle to & from bus station.
  • 89%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • This hostel is ABSOLUTELY FILTHY. The showers appear not to have been cleaned for years. There are colonies of scum growing up the walls and near the drain hole. I have photos which I will pass on to hostels.com. In the dorm room there was such a build up of dirt, fluff and rubbish, it had matted into little piles. I do not know what the cleaner does. There is also a trip hazard from the common room to the outside area which they cover up with a mat instead of highlighting and labelling it.
  • 49%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • not a bad little place as far as hostels go,,,also, the staff member with the red hair (I believe he works mostly days) is really friendly and informative about the city.
  • 80%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Amy USA
  • After seeing a rating of 86% and comparing to other locations, expectations were decent. Upon arriving seemed like an overgrown frat house with an odd odor. Stayed in 4-person private. Cobwebs behind beds and very little light. Bathrooms were gross. No hand soap and some toilets were covered with toilet paper/signs to prevent people from using them. Showers unmentionable. Can't beat $ if that's all you can do, decent location, accommodations very poor.
  • 46%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Hallie USA
  • Looks weird to start with but very easy to love over a very short space of time,10 mins from downtown plus magazine street is excellent 2 mins. Away
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Lorna Scotland
  • This is by far the best Hostel I have stayed at. Really fun place to meet really fun people. Clean, secure, cheap, fun
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The staff is very helpful but finding the place can be difficult if you don't have a car since it is about a 15 minute walk from the streetcars.
  • 66%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Travis USA
  • Cool chilled out place. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when it came to the group wanting to stay a few more nights over halloween. The area can get a bit dodgy at night, but inside the hostel is fine.
  • 77%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Thomas Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »