See other Portland properties

AAE Portland Downtown

415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 68% from 20 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • i thought it was pretty good there met some cool people right in the city not to crowded if i was to go back to portland for a few days i would deffinetly go back there
  • 80%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Alexander USA
  • My things had been rummaged through and food was stolen from my private room when it had been cleaned.
  • 49%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Courtney USA
  • This isn't exactly a hostel, but a motel where someone has put a lot of beds into the same room. There is no common room, activities or hostel athmosphere. That being said, it's an acceptable place to sleep for the price, clean with kitchen and bathroom in the room and a good location if downtown is where you want to be. Probably great if you're travelling in a goup, not so much for solo travellers. Oh, and very thin matresses.
  • 57%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Sara Norway
  • The hostel was adequate and I didn't have any issues. There were no bugs or anything like that, but the sheets were a little bit lacking as there was only a fleece blanket, top sheet and pillowcase. Would have been nice to have a fitted sheet. Took a nap one of the days and found that the maid had cleaned around me and left new sheets on the bed with me, was a little weird, but funny more than anything. The best part of the hostel were the other tenants, made some great friends and had a blast.
  • 66%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Andrea USA
  • BED BUGS, EVERYWHERE, LOTS OF IT. I fell asleep only for about 1 hour and woke up itching, I had over 40 bed bug bytes, and upon inspection, the bed was full of them. AVOID at all costs.
  • 46%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Carlos Dominican Republic
  • the service we received was ridiculous. I booked a room on the hostels site, It charged my card with the deposit, no where did I see there was an age restriction which apparently I was over the age limit by one year! I travelled for 2 hours from my other hostel only to be rejected at the reception. shockin policy , shocking service and compassion by the staff and in too of that I had to pay because apparently it was my mistake! Not to mention the fact that I was discriminated for my age by 1yr
  • 46%
  • 01 Aug 2013 ross Australia
  • Cute hostel in a very good area!
  • 83%
  • 21 Jul 2013 tatiane Brazil
  • I definitely enjoyed my experience at this hostel. Even though it may seem a little bit gloomy inside, I would recommend this hostel to my friends. I did not feel unsafe. Also, the location is very convenient. However, the hostel has an interesting smell, but it's not too bad.
  • 66%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Emily USA
  • Not a bad place to stay in Portland - the location is great and well connected to public transport. Next door to a late night bar that serves pretty good pizza by the slice. I would stay here again.
  • 71%
  • 01 Jun 2013 Edward England
  • We got a room with 2 double beds for a really, really great price! It was located very close to downtown, downtown was walkable. The area was nice, quite safe, close to a few shops and restaurants.
  • 89%
  • 26 May 2013 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »