See other Portland properties

AAE Portland Downtown

415 SW Montgomery Street, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 78% from 14 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, room was clean but had a bit of funk to it if all the windows were left closed.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Syd USA
  • The American guy who was there the morning I checked in was extremely friendly. The foreigner at the desk (Indian or Pakistani) on the other hand was rather unfriendly (when I checked out). THe bathroom was GROSS, but there were 6 other guys there at the time in the same room. The lockers are tiny and not much fits. The beds were uncomfortable. The place is a bit pricy for the quality, but it's OK given that there aren't many other options in Portland and the location is quite decent.
  • 71%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great view; nice pub next door; central location; nice beds, clean room and private restroom/toilet/tub/shower
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Beth A USA
  • This place is gross. I know the price is good and the location is good but you will feel gross. It's essentially a cheap motel room you share with a bunch of people. It smells, the bathroom is gross, it's overall grimy. It's a miracle that this place is still in business. Trust me, don't do it!
  • 34%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It does what it is supposed to do.
  • 66%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Samuel USA
  • It was a great stay. A warning at check-in that automobile breaking are likely could have been useful in taking preventative measures.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were lovely, the room was huge - Unexpectedly spacious - And the bed was huge and cosy too. Everything was neat and clean and comfortable. Our only complaint would be that the room smelt very strongly of cheese or feet or something. The smell would hit us as soon as we walked into the room. Luckily the brain gets used to smells so we could ignore it after a few minutes. But every time we came back to the room...
  • 83%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Cameron Australia
  • don't know why it got so many bad reviews, to me it was just great !
  • 91%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Antoine Switzerland
  • This hostel was excellent in that my experience was positive. Your staff was acomodating.
  • 86%
  • 11 Nov 2014 KELLY USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »