See other Portland properties

AAE Portland Downtown

415 SW Montgomery Street, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 72% from 11 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is a dump. It's like someone googled hostel and put in the elements they thought make up one in a converted hotel room. When I got there someone had been in my bunk and it had not been cleaned. None of the electrical outlets worked. In the bathroom the tile was coming off the side of the tub and it was also really dirty. Overall, the location is great but the experience was not worth the money.
  • 37%
  • 19 Dec 2015 Marie USA
  • I only stayed here one night -- it's not the most beautiful hostel, more motel-like in appearance than some of the other house or hotel hostels I've stayed in. Everyone seemed nice enough and everything was clean enough. Basic and fine. No amenities, really, and yet it cost pretty much the same price as other hostels in other, equally good, parts of town. Also, I prefer hostels with dorm beds that have curtains for a bit of privacy. But nothing was wrong here, it was all just fine.
  • 80%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Remember to bring your own lock for the safes, because front desk does not sell or rent any.
  • 57%
  • 07 Oct 2015 Kathryn England
  • Great location, room was clean but had a bit of funk to it if all the windows were left closed.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Syd USA
  • The American guy who was there the morning I checked in was extremely friendly. The foreigner at the desk (Indian or Pakistani) on the other hand was rather unfriendly (when I checked out). THe bathroom was GROSS, but there were 6 other guys there at the time in the same room. The lockers are tiny and not much fits. The beds were uncomfortable. The place is a bit pricy for the quality, but it's OK given that there aren't many other options in Portland and the location is quite decent.
  • 71%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great view; nice pub next door; central location; nice beds, clean room and private restroom/toilet/tub/shower
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Beth A USA
  • This place is gross. I know the price is good and the location is good but you will feel gross. It's essentially a cheap motel room you share with a bunch of people. It smells, the bathroom is gross, it's overall grimy. It's a miracle that this place is still in business. Trust me, don't do it!
  • 34%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is more like a shared apartment, therefore it's a good place to meet people..especially for solo-travelers. Very nice balcony! And Portland is a jewel!
  • 69%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Gioia Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »