See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 55% from 17 reviews

  • 49%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 63%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 51%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Horrible Horrible place do not stay here
  • 20%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Micheal Ireland
  • I had an awful experience at this hostel - the rooms were okay (the beds squeak like anything though), the facilities sub-standard, and the staff was downright awful. The manager particularly, a dishonest man I hope never to encounter again - out to cheat money from honest people by despicable means. That was maybe just my unfortunate experience, but that aside, the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. I would advise another hostel, or any alternative available - make this your last choice...
  • 34%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Christopher England
  • Needs a clean + pictures on website doesn't match reality.
  • 49%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The living areas were nice and the people were very friendly. The main problem was that the bedding was moist and we just wished that the linens were dried for a longer time after they were washed. Other than that, good for the price!
  • 71%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Mouses in the rooms eating from my bag with food that was standing on the floor. Disgusting! Came in one night and a guy had taken my bed, staff had given him the wrong key. Got wet cheats and towel at check in. I hasn't very hapoy with my stay at European Guest House.
  • 46%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Susanna USA
  • Cheap, convenient, clean.
  • 83%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • It is very dirty.
  • 46%
  • 05 May 2014 Ting
  • my friend and me booked a 6 bed female room and it was horrible. the room was way to small for 6 people! there was no place to put the luggage and no AC! I would not recommend to book a 6 bed room
  • 43%
  • 01 May 2014 Luzie Germany
  • The place was really, really smelly. One tenant had her purse robbed and I believe that the staff didn't help her at all. The hostel was located near an area where you could bear witness to drug deals happening, crack fiends smoking crack and a lot of homeless people. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone at all. Avoid this place like the plague.
  • 26%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Archie Philippines
  • VERY UNSAFE AREA.The room was dirty and had bugs. The management is rude and unhelpful, gave us dirty sheets. The area has homeless all around, our room was broken into and a french guys laptop stolen. very few lockers. This is the WORST HOSTEL in San Francisco to stay, PERIOD.
  • 29%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »