See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 54% from 16 reviews

  • 51%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 53%Security
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 58%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Mouses in the rooms eating from my bag with food that was standing on the floor. Disgusting! Came in one night and a guy had taken my bed, staff had given him the wrong key. Got wet cheats and towel at check in. I hasn't very hapoy with my stay at European Guest House.
  • 46%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Susanna USA
  • Cheap, convenient, clean.
  • 83%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • It is very dirty.
  • 46%
  • 05 May 2014 Ting
  • my friend and me booked a 6 bed female room and it was horrible. the room was way to small for 6 people! there was no place to put the luggage and no AC! I would not recommend to book a 6 bed room
  • 43%
  • 01 May 2014 Luzie Germany
  • The place was really, really smelly. One tenant had her purse robbed and I believe that the staff didn't help her at all. The hostel was located near an area where you could bear witness to drug deals happening, crack fiends smoking crack and a lot of homeless people. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone at all. Avoid this place like the plague.
  • 26%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Archie Philippines
  • VERY UNSAFE AREA.The room was dirty and had bugs. The management is rude and unhelpful, gave us dirty sheets. The area has homeless all around, our room was broken into and a french guys laptop stolen. very few lockers. This is the WORST HOSTEL in San Francisco to stay, PERIOD.
  • 29%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • If you are looking for a fun and party-going atmosphere, then this is not the place for you. The only good thing I can say about it is that it is relatively close to a lot and has fast wifi. Besides that, young people and adventure seekers stay away!
  • 49%
  • 09 Nov 2013 John USA
  • This hostel is the worst hostel I've ever been to, and I've been to a lot! Two toilets per floor with roughly 60 people on each floor is NOT enough, especially when one of the two toilets is clogged with !"§$ for over two days! The bathrooms in general were really dirty! The rooms reminded me of small prison cells, 4m x 4m with 3 bunkbeds, 6 people, no lockers nothing else and still not enough room to even change clothes! summary: unfriendly small dirty dangerous neighbourhood gross
  • 26%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Stefan Germany
  • The location is bad. I felt extremely unsafe because I was attacked in front of the hostel. The area is really bad. The hostel has bad common areas, the rooftop is completely empty and the hostel doesn't try to change it. My bed was made after the first night and somebody else put his stuff on it, so I had to move. no apologies from the staff, just a dirty new blanket. The price is way to high for what you get. better pay a little more and stay somewhere else!
  • 34%
  • 12 Jul 2013 Sarah Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »