See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 56% from 42 reviews

  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 46%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you have more money, then don't stay here. You can spend a couple of more bucks for much better hostels in the area!
  • 57%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great value for the price! I stayed at the dorm room and had great experience. The location is close to public transportation and most of the attractions. There are lots of homeless outside but they don't bother you if you don't bother them:-)
  • 100%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • For starters my door to the room wouldn't shut and it constantly kept opening, The lock to the door was busted and took forever to lock/Unlock and if anyone was sleeping with it locked they would be awoken. Not very clean as i was avoiding clogs of hair in the shower drains! YUK! Location was in a back alley, sort of close to the center of town which was convenient.
  • 49%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Jordan New Zealand
  • It was OK, if they placed lockers in the rooms it would be even better.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Laszlo Hungary
  • A few dozen meters from the building I saw syringe lying on the street - charm of California occupied by hordes of bums. Quite friendly service, we had no problems with staying for a few hours due to our late flight. The entrance door to the hostel protected by a password. Well equipped kitchen occupied mostly by, as the name suggests, tourists from Europe.
  • 74%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Very disgusting place. Not clean. Stinky.
  • 29%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • One room as restroom /shower per floor isn't enough. No safe, our room smelled.
  • 51%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • The bed shook, the cleaning crew was not friendly (and one lady didn't speak English to communicate with). Considering this was the cheapest hostel in sf, it makes sense not to expect too much.
  • 49%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Richard USA
  • They were constantly running out of toilet paper.the chemicals they used to clean made Me go to the er with an asthma attack. I checked out early. Fodor said office hours were 7 to 11 yet no one showed up till 7:30 The carpeting was old an ragged . There was no air conditioning so it felt like90 degrees in room. It was just a miserable stay
  • 31%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Kathleen USA
  • Dorms are tiny but ok and clean, there are not enough showers & bathrooms, so be prepared to stand in line, especially in the evening. Showers are not always really clean.
  • 66%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Saskia Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »