See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 56% from 25 reviews

  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 44%Cleanliness
  • 58%Location
  • 56%Value for money
  • 49%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Horrible. Don't come here.
  • 29%
  • 27 May 2016 Charity
  • You don't pay much, so don't expect much. It's not in the best neighborhood and there are too many people in a small room. Didn't like it that much, but it was OK for a cheap night.
  • 66%
  • 26 May 2016 Sandra Netherlands
  • Room was lit, other guests were loud at times, and poor etiquette turning light on while I was sleeping. Great shower, clean bed, cheap fare, enjoyable crowd, great front desk guy, within walking distance of walgreens 2 charges I wasnt expecting since I didn't stay 2 of the nights I had booked 3
  • 69%
  • 04 May 2016 Tristan USA
  • Although the localisation of the hostel is good (close from the centre and so) the street is horrible, I saw some people using drugs just in front of the hostel, there were a lot of homeless people and on our last day we saw even a poop on the street!!! A local told us that sometimes car windows are broken there too, so we shouldn't leave our suitcases in the car or park there. The hostel has one bathroom per floor and it doesn't look clean at all. There isn't enough lockers to put the luggage!
  • 46%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Isadora Brazil
  • Expect to pay more when you arrive. They charge you over $80 in taxes. This hostel is right in the center of the homeless/drug using part of town. Don't go out alone at night. The walls are paper thin and the other guests were extremely loud. The bathrooms and showers are not very clean. I questioned the cleanliness of our room, and bedding. You'll need a can of Lysol wherever you go in this hostel.
  • 43%
  • 12 Mar 2016 Anonymous
  • they stole money from me
  • 20%
  • 20 Feb 2016 Shaun
  • If you have more money, then don't stay here. You can spend a couple of more bucks for much better hostels in the area!
  • 57%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great value for the price! I stayed at the dorm room and had great experience. The location is close to public transportation and most of the attractions. There are lots of homeless outside but they don't bother you if you don't bother them:-)
  • 100%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • For starters my door to the room wouldn't shut and it constantly kept opening, The lock to the door was busted and took forever to lock/Unlock and if anyone was sleeping with it locked they would be awoken. Not very clean as i was avoiding clogs of hair in the shower drains! YUK! Location was in a back alley, sort of close to the center of town which was convenient.
  • 49%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Jordan New Zealand
  • It was OK, if they placed lockers in the rooms it would be even better.
  • 71%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Laszlo Hungary
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »