See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 57% from 20 reviews

  • 51%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 61%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed 4 nights, staff I thought was exceptional. Kitchen was adequate. On the 3rd night I got several welts probably from bed bugs. The staff changed immediately the bedding on my bunk and one above me. I didnt notice more problems, but unfortunately these bites take a month or two to go away and itch terribly for first several days. I know this is currrently a major problem for international travelers. This would not stop me from staying at the hostel in a future visit to San Francisco.
  • 86%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Richard USA
  • i would recommend your hostel
  • 83%
  • 26 Aug 2014 jim USA
  • Horrible Horrible place do not stay here
  • 20%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Micheal Ireland
  • I had an awful experience at this hostel - the rooms were okay (the beds squeak like anything though), the facilities sub-standard, and the staff was downright awful. The manager particularly, a dishonest man I hope never to encounter again - out to cheat money from honest people by despicable means. That was maybe just my unfortunate experience, but that aside, the staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. I would advise another hostel, or any alternative available - make this your last choice...
  • 34%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Christopher England
  • Needs a clean + pictures on website doesn't match reality.
  • 49%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The living areas were nice and the people were very friendly. The main problem was that the bedding was moist and we just wished that the linens were dried for a longer time after they were washed. Other than that, good for the price!
  • 71%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Mouses in the rooms eating from my bag with food that was standing on the floor. Disgusting! Came in one night and a guy had taken my bed, staff had given him the wrong key. Got wet cheats and towel at check in. I hasn't very hapoy with my stay at European Guest House.
  • 46%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Susanna USA
  • Cheap, convenient, clean.
  • 83%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • It is very dirty.
  • 46%
  • 05 May 2014 Ting
  • my friend and me booked a 6 bed female room and it was horrible. the room was way to small for 6 people! there was no place to put the luggage and no AC! I would not recommend to book a 6 bed room
  • 43%
  • 01 May 2014 Luzie Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »