See other San Francisco properties

AAE S.F. European Hostel

761 Minna Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 57% from 28 reviews

  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 61%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 58%Value for money
  • 51%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Small rooms, dirty beds and sheets, mice, and dirty shower.
  • 40%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Katrine Norway
  • Terrible experience.
  • 23%
  • 10 Mar 2015 james Antarctica
  • It was ok, it smelt like cats and the staff was very quite, I didn't even know they were charging my card. The room was more of a closet, the bed was comfortable though. It was a fine place to stay for one night, not nearly worth $60 for a private room, maybe $40-$45. Would look around for better value next time but wouldn't be completely opossum to staying there again.
  • 46%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Amber USA
  • The fire-exit at the 4th floor was padlocked, everywhere it was awfully dirty, I got an allergic dust-attack and when I asked for cleaning, the cleaning lady (???) arrived with an outdoor broom and a spray can. I felt cheated, as I payed more than it was said at the internet.
  • 37%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anita Denmark
  • Owner was very friendly and a good host. Excellent price and clean. We'll be back for a stay next time weren't in the San Francisco area. Great Deal!!
  • 89%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Edwin Canada
  • The bad things: front desk is not always there, we can't use the kitchen after 11pm, the street is very dark and full of homeless around. Good things: it's near downtown.
  • 77%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Barbara Brazil
  • The bed-line was dirty, also the bathrooms, and the area is not the best one ...
  • 43%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • The hostel is awful. Here are some examples: 1) the entire building smells llike pee 2) our personal items are not safe. One of the employees took one of our towels off when we weren't at the hostel. 3) the owner asked me to talk in Spanish (I speak Portuguese) with one of the employees because he doesn't know how to speak Spanish. WTF 4) we found some garbage at the room right after the check-in and the washroom was dirty 5) we couldn't use the bed linen because it looked disgusting
  • 23%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Ricardo Brazil
  • I worked at this place previously. I was shocked by some of the things which occured. For instance, it has the same code I used twenty years ago on the door, there are cameras out in the sitting area where the couches are and possible rape might occur. There are mouse traps under the bed and rodents scurring around along with some bringing thier pets not thier service dogs into the premises. I also noticed the coffee pot I had bought was not being used nor were the extra bags taken out of sight.
  • 60%
  • 23 Nov 2014 camille USA
  • There are rats in the hostel. Ventilation in rooms is too poor.
  • 63%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Kin Sum Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »