See other Niagara Falls properties

ACBB Hostel Niagara

5741 McGrail Ave., Niagara Falls, Niagara Falls, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 88% from 28 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Location was really awesome and Staffs are also really good. Great hostel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • There were some problems with electricity as the hostel is currently switching over to solar power, and the wifi was not working. However, I did not really care as the staff here were incredible! On arrival they knew my name, recommended loads of things for me to do, and helped organise activities. They were extremely knowledgable about the local area and really went the extra mile for all of their guests, helping them decided on what to see/do, and to make friends during their stay!
  • 91%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Gareth England
  • Shelly/Patrick are the warmest hosts who've put their hearts into their hostel. Expect handcrafted bunkbeds, hand-drawn maps to non-tourist areas, endless funny stories, and a hearty greeting every time you walk through the door like you're coming home to family. Above & beyond- Shelly even made up a breakfast bag the night before we left because we had to be out of the door at 5am. Stay here! (No electricity sometimes as others say, b/c they're converting to solar energy. Pros outweigh this!)
  • 97%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Faith in humanity has been restored because of the two lovely owners, Patrick and Shelley. They took the time to get to know you and even give some really awesome advice on the side of Niagara less seen. Instead of expensive touristy excursions, they suggested hiking along the niagara river and the Ice House winery. Patrick even drew us a "participatory map" of how to get to the recommended places. Hostel is going under some renovations, but the beds are very comfortable and it's very clean!
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Patrick (the owner) is very helpful and warmhearted. Room is cozy and clean. Location is great. It takes about ten min to walk to the Fall and take cruise. It is also very quiet during the night time. It is a family-style hostel. So you may not expect a modern interior design. However, it is totally worth the price and I did enjoy my stay.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Siyuan China
  • When I visited this hostel there was no electricity. There was simply an extension cord running from a generator -- but only when we asked. The water only worked in the bathroom, but there were too many people there for me to take a shower. My friend hurt herself showering in the dark! The window wouldn't open and there was no AC so I got little sleep and was drenched in sweat. Even locked, our door wouldn't stay shut and people could walk in. Also, my ALL GIRLS room had a man in it.
  • 43%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Elizabeth USA
  • I can't really give the hostel itself a rewiew because I never got to experience it. In the evening before my arrival day I got a email from the owner who canceled me my accomodation for the night, as he said 'due to circumstances beyond our control'. At least he gave me an alternative hostel to stay for the night which was unfortunately 25 then 5 minutes walk from the falls. But otherwise the new accomodation was good and I also could have use the good bus connection.
  • 100%
  • 23 May 2014 Maike Germany
  • Patrick is very good guy. I think it is the best hostel i knew
  • 100%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Bastien
  • A Wonderful hostel nestled in a tourist town. Clean and safe hostel.The staff are very friendly, gracious and supportive to your stay in Niagra Falls. The hostel is just minutes from all tourist attractions. There are plenty of places to hike, bicycle or walk to that go outside the town itself. A photographer's dream of all the pretty landscapes that surround the Niagra Falls region!!!. A definite destination that you will want to come back to again and again!!! Gary H. U.S.A.
  • 100%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Gary A. USA
  • It was a cold day and the heater was not working well. The water was cold. I suffered to take a shower and I had to sleep wearing jeans, jacket and base layer.
  • 37%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Felipe Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »