See other Tokyo properties

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 10km

Rating: 62% from 23 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 59%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay! Had a dryer and laundry which was great, excellent kitchen, and nice simple sleeping facilities. Would recommend for the savvy traveller.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Natasha
  • It's an ok hostel, but kind of rund down with a not so inviting atmosphere. They are super strict about not smoking in the rooms (which is nice) but have smoking bar in the ground floor, that you can smell through the building. Some machine (possibly ventilation?) went off loudly every 20 minutes, also during the night.
  • 49%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • If you're in the old building of this hostel you might be lucky, but the new building is a pain in the ass. It's about five minutes walking distance, which doesn't sound bad, but if you have to wake up early in the morning you don't really want to walk in the opposite direction of the train station to give back your key. If you needed to rent a towel, same story. Worst is that the new building has only one shower, and when I stayed there were about 30 people. Waiting times even at 6 am/ 12am
  • 54%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Worst place I have ever stayed at. Will not recommend even to my enemies.
  • 20%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Asakusa Smile was a great start to our trip! The atmosphere to this hostel and the bar attached is that of friendliness and fun. The rooms were clean and nicely situated. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very good value for money, in a great location, close to temples and shops. Staff was friendly and there were no problems :) showers were average, have turn on hot water before turning on shower. But overall good hostel
  • 74%
  • 29 Nov 2014 Georgia Australia
  • Literally no staff in the building our room was in. Reception 5 blocks away. On the "welcome" poster (threats of police and fines for making noise) someone wrote "where everything is dirty" and someone else added "and broken". The owner doesn't even care enough to take this down. And it's true! It should be cheaper for how dirty and broken it is.
  • 34%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Ian USA
  • Very good value for the money, lock on door held in place with duct tape. Friendly staff and good atmosphere in the bar in the evening.
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Allan Denmark
  • This hostel has really nice and familiar atmosphere, (got a shared kitchen, a bar, open minded people) the owners are very kind and speak good English. It is not high level but perfect for students and travelers, moreover has it really good prices, especially in this location in Tokyo. We stayed there as first spot in Tokyo and everybody was helpful, so we really enjoyed our stay there.
  • 83%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Elif Germany
  • Youthful place with a small bar in a very Big-city-peaceful area. Nothing over-the-top, but.. . would book again.
  • 69%
  • 04 Oct 2014 HJALMAR Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »