See other Tokyo properties

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 10km

Rating: 59% from 28 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 66%Staff
  • 57%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 50%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I lived in the building closer to the metro station. The hostel is pretty simple, facilities seem a little old, the Wi-Fi is weak; Some rooms and the stair are not really spacious, and they ask to take off shoes on first floor, but the floor is not really clean. The staff are accommodating, willing to help the guests. I really got help from the staff, it's a happy experience for me. I think for the cheap price, this hostel isn't bad, for just resting at nights it's still a good option.
  • 77%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • First things first: My review is based only on the second building (Bekkan?). After booking this hostel quickly I then read the reviews and almost cancelled it. Good thing I didn't. I don't know about the building with the reception but but other one was just ok, especially considering that we're talking about one of the cheaper end hostels in Tokyo. Could've been two showers but I never had to wait. Just an average hostel from the cheaper end in my opinnion.
  • 66%
  • 21 Sep 2015 Markus Finland
  • There is ZERO secuirty, I was given a key (which you have to pay a large deposit for) and never used it once. The front door does not even latch shut and hangs open! Then the 'security' lockers are placed next to the open door and are so light and flimsy I could have carried them out single handed. The place is a pig sty (and that is being mean to the pigs). Many people complained about bed bugs. The soap in the bathroom was a bottle with water in it (could not get even a single sud).
  • 20%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • definitely not recommended for those who want to stay longer in bed or room because the cleanliness is below average, the security is not recommended at building two (not main building) because the front door is always open, i can't sure the neighborhood is safe or not
  • 66%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Muhammad
  • Before booking I was skeptical of the other comments, but after living in this "facilities" for a week I can assure you that they are accurate: mold, cockroach, very little rooms with awful beds, stinky bathroom and very suspicious cleaning and the staff is not helping at all. But there is a vending machine with water bottle at 100 Y and the hostel is not far from Asakusa station.
  • 31%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Alessandra Switzerland
  • I've never expected that I've to fight with big bugs before go to sleep!!!!! Bar on first floor always means awfull smoke on other floors also:(
  • 51%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Adam Poland
  • Great place to stay! Had a dryer and laundry which was great, excellent kitchen, and nice simple sleeping facilities. Would recommend for the savvy traveller.
  • 91%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Natasha
  • It's an ok hostel, but kind of rund down with a not so inviting atmosphere. They are super strict about not smoking in the rooms (which is nice) but have smoking bar in the ground floor, that you can smell through the building. Some machine (possibly ventilation?) went off loudly every 20 minutes, also during the night.
  • 49%
  • 09 Apr 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • If you're in the old building of this hostel you might be lucky, but the new building is a pain in the ass. It's about five minutes walking distance, which doesn't sound bad, but if you have to wake up early in the morning you don't really want to walk in the opposite direction of the train station to give back your key. If you needed to rent a towel, same story. Worst is that the new building has only one shower, and when I stayed there were about 30 people. Waiting times even at 6 am/ 12am
  • 54%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Worst place I have ever stayed at. Will not recommend even to my enemies.
  • 20%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »