See other Tokyo properties

AS House (Asakusa Smile)

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 10km

Rating: 66% from 12 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Errebody up in these comments complaining about seeing a cockroach and I used to live in Japan a few years back and my friends warned me that I might see them anyway no matter how clean your place is. I saw a little dude on my way to the shower. We stopped and had a stare down and then he ran the hell outta there. He knew not to mess with me. Overall, I prefer cleaner places, but for the price and location it was worth it. I was barely there anyway.
  • 77%
  • 26 Nov 2016 Meghann USA
  • First time at a hostel in Japan, been to many in Korea. Not too difficult to find since they give you clear instructions (with videos) but I got lost and it still took awhile. The place itself didn't look the best and I felt dirty being in there. You get what you pay for. Wouldn't do it again.
  • 57%
  • 09 Aug 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was not clean and it was smelly
  • 34%
  • 26 May 2016 Ka Yee Hong Kong
  • I've stayed at this hostel many times. You get a free drink ticket at the bar when you check in. It's very neat Tokyo sky tree and it's not too far from the closest subway station. The house has a locked door. But it is hard to lock and many towns the door was wide open when I went back. I was a bit disappointed this time. The bathroom never had toilet paper and the trash can always seemed full. There are no curtains on bunks so when someone turned the light on at 2am it was infuriating.
  • 60%
  • 01 May 2016 Jessica Japan
  • The second building, the bekkan, no staff was there and everybody could come in - that means no security and nobody for explain something. Very simpel rooms and uncharitably written information notes on the wall.
  • 51%
  • 30 Mar 2016 Annett Germany
  • Very good hostel.I'm totally satisfied about my staying
  • 89%
  • 24 Jan 2016 antonio Spain
  • Not so clean but it is the cheapest hostel I can find !!
  • 60%
  • 06 Dec 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »