See other Cork properties

Aaran House Tourist Hostel

4 Woburn Place, Opposite Train station, Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 84% from 14 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Aaran House Hostel was perfect - spotlessly clean, helpful staff and great value for money, particularly for an ensuite twin room. The location is also excellent. I would highly recommend it to others!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • Lovely, clean room with clean bathrooms to match. The owner is a very friendly lady who is only too happy to help guests find their way around town or even just have a chat. Good wifi, no kitchen or laundry. Location was good, although Cork isn't huge so this was not going to be an issue regardless. Overall, a pleasant experience ad we would definitely stay again.
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This was a great hotel. The owner was very friendly. It was very clean. I loved it.
  • 100%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Tamela USA
  • Tracy was lovely, it was your average musty funky hostel. A tad pricy for a lower end hostel but provided what any hostel does in the end, a place to sleep at a price that wont completely break you.
  • 69%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • very small hostel, not big enough eating and social area, but great location
  • 57%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved it! Check in times can be kind of inconvenient but don't let that stop you from staying there. It's grat and the owner is wonderful. We were both sick while I was there and she came up and gave me some cough drops before bed. So sweet!
  • 100%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Breakfast is not included,but everything else is OK.
  • 80%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Anonymous Croatia
  • One of the friendliest places we stayed at.
  • 71%
  • 15 Nov 2013 donna USA
  • This hostel is PERFECT for meeting really interesting fellow-travelers. Tracy, the owner, was the best! Always available, great sense of humor, and SO helpful and kind! The ONLY problem I had with the hostel was how old the facilities were. The common area was fine, but my 4-bed room smelled like urine, and the bathroom floor was literally mushy beneath the linoleum. But honestly, even in spite of those things, I WOULD stay here again. Great vibe. Very homey and welcoming.
  • 80%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Jennifer USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »