See other London properties

Abercorn House Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England, Distance from city centre: 7.3km

Rating: 67% from 20 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No elevator (at least that I could find). I could not believe how much noise carried inside the hostel, I think perhaps I heard ever door close throughout the entire floor I was on and I certainly heard every foot step on the stairs. Made it difficult to sleep.
  • 63%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bed was terrible. They changed the mattress for me, I can't be sure, but I think they merely flipped it over as it was no better. I used the towels and my sleeping bag to help cushion the springs that were almost poking through. The kitchens had nothing to cook with - everyone staying there had to go out and buy their own pots and pans. Not so cost effective for backpackers. The internet was terrible! If it was free it would have been acceptable. It was clean but had no atmosphere.
  • 60%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Aften a weekend at Abercorn I have been bitten hundreds of times by bed bugs! And now I have brought them to Denmark (I am still being bitten!!!!!) I both saw the small, flat and brown bugs in our room at Abercorn AND I saw its faces as well on the bedclothes HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm warning other guests against using this place. I hope the hostel will take action against this huge problem.
  • 60%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Tanja Sparvath
  • Because of thin doors you can hear almost everything that goes on in this hostel. Even on a everyday night it can be hard to fall asleep because of people returning late, and you can hear the doors slam so clearly.
  • 51%
  • 20 Jan 2014 Caroline Kragh Denmark
  • The location just a few minutes from the subway is really great, easy to be anywhere in London. The room and the shower were clean. One of the staff member really help me out for a problem. Which was most appreciated. The only negative point is maybe the glass window that separates the reception from the guest, which makes a cold atmosphere.
  • 71%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Cockroaches everywhere, even in the rooms. the bathroom in the deluxe rooms are tiny, take a shower longer than five minutes and there's a flood in the entire room. LOUSY
  • 49%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • I took a ensuite private room, it was clean, safe, but just an space to sleep, what was great taking care about the price of about USD 100 per nigh compared with normal hotels that was really expensive and other hostels that was not ensuite. The location was not directly in the cernter of London, but it was about 2 blocks from Hammersmith Tube/Bus Station, what give you the opportunity to have an excellent transportation service.
  • 80%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Ricardo Venezuela
  • We were very disappointed, facilities were a shame. If it's the motion sensors in the corridors, bathrooms and showers, the lack if free internet access (one would think that if you are advanced enought to have motion sensors you would also have wifi...), the button activated shower where the water stop after 15 sec and you can't adjust the temperature. Everything felt like the hostel was trying to save costs on your stay and they weren't ashamed at it. A horrific expiriance...
  • 54%
  • 30 Sep 2013 Avi Israel
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »