See other London properties

Abercorn House Hostel

28 Bute Gardens, Hammersmith, London, England, Distance from city centre: 7.3km

Rating: 71% from 17 reviews

  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is not a hostel - in case you need a place to JUST SLEEP it's fine. But never ever consider that as a hostel! No atmosphere for backpackers.
  • 26%
  • 29 Oct 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • On net was mentioned free wifi while booking but have to pay for wifi on hourly basis. Also not clear cut mention on common bathrooms.
  • 60%
  • 26 Jul 2016 Pratibha India
  • Don´t book this!!! It is a total rip off! Trying to check in the manager let us pay first (!!!!) then told us that we couldn´t stay here, because the hostel was overbooked. Told us he had a nicer place, it would be an upgrade for us. You couldn´t lock the doors, it was loud (120 decibel), unable to sleep, no ventilation, in case of fire you probably would have died there. Abercorn puts the blame on us. Try to get my money back for weeks now. Treat us like idiots. DONT BOOK!!!!
  • 20%
  • 28 Jun 2016 Katharina Germany
  • Tucked away on a side street it's nevertheless close to everything Hammersmith has to offer. The construction next door is winding down. No individual lockers in the room. Modern bathroom and kitchen facilities but, oddly enough, no pots & pans or cooking utensils in the latter. I enjoyed the relaxed/quiet ambience but those seeking a more social/festive atmosphere may be served better elsewhere.
  • 71%
  • 08 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good location, far from the center, but close to metro and bus station. There are also a few nice restaurants and bars around. The hostel looks quite clean overall. The main problem was the temperature - way too hot for a having decent sleep, even with the window open. There is too much noise in the morning from the slamming doors and from a construction building nearby (even in the weekend). Not to much to do in the hostel, other than chilling a bit in the open terrace. Overall, good stay.
  • 69%
  • 06 May 2016 Anonymous Romania
  • I had a wonderful time at the hostel. The hostess Monica is a lovely person and can provide valuable tips about the city. The hostel is cosy and clean.
  • 100%
  • 04 May 2016 Anonymous Brazil
  • Is what I expected for the price, reasonably well located, next to Hammersmith stop but very calm atmosphere and pretty clean. So I'm happy with my choice. Showers are mixed and don't have any place inside to hung the clothes. The staff was correct, but they could be more friendly.
  • 71%
  • 28 Apr 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • When I booked the Abercon Hostel, I expected that there is going to be an equipped kitchen so I can cook my food and save some money from eating outside.Indeed there were many kitchens,but NONE of them had a frypan or a saucepan, or a baking pan.Eventually, I had to buy cooked food and I came out of budget.It is the first time I visit a hostel that has a kitchen but not any equipment for cooking. I don't think that a 5 or 10£ frypan is a significant cost for the hostel to cover.
  • 74%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Athanasios Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »