See other London properties

Acacia Hostel

14 Queensberry Place, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 72% from 14 reviews

  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I knew not to expect alot for the price, but the room wasn't clean, the refrigirator dirty & smelly, the walls obviously newly patched up on some places and not been painted over. Thats maybe ok, but not a room temperature like outside because of a broken window and the other side of the hall. The staff told us they would take a look at it - which happened after 3 nights. Staff was unfriendly and rather taking private calls than help me out. The only thing worth staying there was the location.
  • 60%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Ines Switzerland
  • When we arrived in the middle of the night they told us that they couldn't find our reservation, after thirty minutes conversation full of stress and panic it felt like a miracle that they found it in the end. But instead of the room with six beds we got one with eight. The water in the shower was cold aall the time. The positive thing was a pretty kind lady in the hostel who helped us looking for the coach we had to take to get to the airport. And also South kensington is a nice place to stay
  • 49%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Julia Germany
  • simple but clean rooms; bathrooms are ok (depending on the time of the day, but in general fine); perfect location; breakfast is not so great
  • 80%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Location is superb (try Gail's at South Kensington Station), and staff's nice. The dorm on the 2nd floor is okay, but the one in the basement quite smelly. Perfect value for 1-2 nights.
  • 80%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Ursula Germany
  • Perfect place to discover fascinating Liverpool!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Ursula Germany
  • This hostel is ideal for someone looking to spend a night in London on the cheap. If that is your situation, pull the trigger, you won't find a better deal. A longer stay might be a bit rough. No extras here (other than a free breakfast, which is fine): no towels, no lounge most of the time, and minimal security. Not the most comfortable stay I've ever had, but there wasn't anything gross or unbearable about it. For 13 pounds a night, I call that a win.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Samantha USA
  • Overall I was happy with my visit, very good location!
  • 77%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Alicja Poland
  • The hostel is not fancy at all but does the trick! Great location and great value for London. Staff was kind and helpful. Bring your own towel!
  • 77%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Maureen USA
  • The location was great - right next to all the major museums, but that's about the only thing I liked about this hostel. They didn't have a working key for me my first night there to my room (which was in the damp, smelly basement), so I had to ask to be let into my room each time I went in or out. They have a kitchen but no accessible utensils or equipment. There was essentially no common area. Staff would constantly argue with each other and did not make me feel welcome.
  • 60%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was pleasantly surprised. It is not a Marriott, there's one down the street, but it was clean, the staff was very nice. As a place to sleep, which is all I wanted, it worked out perfectly. And the location is great for activities in the South Kensington area. It was a much better value than the hotel I stayed at the next night.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Gregg USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »