See other London properties

Acacia Hostel

14 Queensberry Place, South Kensington, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.2km

Rating: 79% from 11 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • simple but clean rooms; bathrooms are ok (depending on the time of the day, but in general fine); perfect location; breakfast is not so great
  • 80%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Location is superb (try Gail's at South Kensington Station), and staff's nice. The dorm on the 2nd floor is okay, but the one in the basement quite smelly. Perfect value for 1-2 nights.
  • 80%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Ursula Germany
  • Perfect place to discover fascinating Liverpool!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Ursula Germany
  • This hostel is ideal for someone looking to spend a night in London on the cheap. If that is your situation, pull the trigger, you won't find a better deal. A longer stay might be a bit rough. No extras here (other than a free breakfast, which is fine): no towels, no lounge most of the time, and minimal security. Not the most comfortable stay I've ever had, but there wasn't anything gross or unbearable about it. For 13 pounds a night, I call that a win.
  • 66%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Samantha USA
  • Overall I was happy with my visit, very good location!
  • 77%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Alicja Poland
  • The hostel is not fancy at all but does the trick! Great location and great value for London. Staff was kind and helpful. Bring your own towel!
  • 77%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Maureen USA
  • The location was great - right next to all the major museums, but that's about the only thing I liked about this hostel. They didn't have a working key for me my first night there to my room (which was in the damp, smelly basement), so I had to ask to be let into my room each time I went in or out. They have a kitchen but no accessible utensils or equipment. There was essentially no common area. Staff would constantly argue with each other and did not make me feel welcome.
  • 60%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was pleasantly surprised. It is not a Marriott, there's one down the street, but it was clean, the staff was very nice. As a place to sleep, which is all I wanted, it worked out perfectly. And the location is great for activities in the South Kensington area. It was a much better value than the hotel I stayed at the next night.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Gregg USA
  • No complaints other than when having asked about leaving my bag at reception for safe keeping and that I'd be back at noon (12) I was told OK, no problem. When I returned at 11:50- Reception was LOCKED, no one around AT ALL. despite yelling "HEELLLLOOOO" for 20 mins, and ringing the front door bell. After 12:20 someone appeared and I asked about how to get to my bag, he graciously called the Manager who came quickly. I felt his yelling at the man who called him for me was misdirected.
  • 63%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »