See other Florence properties

Academy Hostel

Via Ricasoli 9, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 92% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was great! They did wine and pasta or pizza every evening, it was a great opportunity to meet other people staying in the hostel. We travelled as a group of 7 people (18-24 years) and felt this hostel was perfect for us. There were no loud noises allowed on the patio in the late evening, but that was fine because we'd rather be out exploring the streets of Florence anyway! Our room was huge, the hostel was right in the heart of Florence and was an authentic Italian building. Loved it!
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2014 Robyn Canada
  • Place was very difficult to find. We walked by it 5 times before someone finally called and walked us there. Location was pretty good, close to duomo and walking distance to most everything. Facilities were average, and staff seemed pretty stoned. A little overpriced for what we got (2 people, one private room), but the convenience of location made up for it.
  • 57%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent!! Beds separated by curtains, free food in the evening, very clean and the staff is very helpful. Located just by the Dome!! No kitchen, just a microwave. However the brakfast is very good and you get the evening supper.
  • 97%
  • 05 Mar 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Excellent Hostel, one of the best I have stayed in. Rooms are spotless and are cleaned throughout the day. Staff were very helpful, and it is easy to meet other travellers. Only one negative point - guests are asked to vacate the hostel between the hours of 11am to 2pm for cleaning, which is fine, but the cleaning staff often came about an hour early, and at times I was made to feel uncomfortable for still being in the room at 10am. Overall though, a really great place to stay.
  • 94%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anonymous England
  • Nothing to say, BEST hostel ever.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The hostel was extremely clean. The staff was helpful and kind. I would recommend this hostel to travelers visiting Florence.
  • 94%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Alice USA
  • Amazing hostal, the staff were very kind and willing to help you, we had at 6:30 pm wine and appetizers to make everyone in the hostal join and was just the perfect space to meet new people, you can't ask for a better location for this hostal, is right between the Santa Maria church And the Galleria de la academia, and just 10 minute walking from the train station. Very comfortable beds and very clean facilities.
  • 100%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Juan Sebastián
  • AMAZING bathroom! Great room and breakfast! :) Loved it!
  • 100%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Thanks for convenient and kind service! I stayed 4 nights at your hostel and I felt there as a home. The biggest thing I'd like to praise is staffs. They were all nice and kind, very helpful when I needed help. The whole facilities were nice and neat. It was also great that they throw small evening snack time so that anyone can talk each other where they come from and share some travel tips. The only thing I unsatisfied was breakfast. I wished there was more of fresh foods rather than sweets.
  • 97%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Academy Hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Not only is it centrally located, but the staff go out of their way to ensure that you're enjoying your time in Firenze. They organize hostel-wide outings, provide snacks and wine nightly, and take really good care of their guests. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in Firenze.
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »