See other Florence properties

Academy Hostel

Via Ricasoli 9, Florence, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 88% from 11 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Academy hostel was really nice, I would surely be there again when I visit Florence in the future. Location is perfect, like 30-second-walk from Duomo and 10-minute-walk from the station. Breakfast, which was free, was way better than other international hostels I've been to, with fruit salad and bread and coffee and etc. Staff was nice too, and the rooms were very spacious. The price was a little, tiny bit heavy for us college students, but it was definitely worth it. :)
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • This hostel is in a great location and is probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. When reading previous reviews, I read that the atmosphere at the hostel wasn't that great, but I found the staff to be incredibly friendly and had a great time staying in this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Carrie USA
  • Super close to the Duomo right in the city center! Very clean an tidy, the only thing that had bothered me was sometimes the attitude of the stuff..
  • 86%
  • 30 Nov 2015 Anonymous Israel
  • Although this isn't a "good time" kind of hostel, it does offer all the makings of one. Aside from the great building, staff, and amenities, the location is superb – literally around the corner from the Florence Cathedral.
  • 94%
  • 27 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic stay! Unbeatable location, quiet and dark room for sleeping, clean and modern bathrooms, met heaps of other great travellers. Definitely would recommend.
  • 86%
  • 12 Oct 2015 Brittany Italy
  • I found this to be a stifling atmosphere. There were signs posted everywhere reminding you to be aware of other guests or the many rules (no food or drink in your room, no outside guests can enter your room, etc). This is not something I have seen in other hostels because it typically isn't necessary to remind people to be decent to each other. After an off-putting interaction with a staffer (she was just a bit rude/short right as I arrived), I asked for a refund for my two other booked nights.
  • 77%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Cara USA
  • Wonderful hostel! Being my first hostel I would highly recommend it, perfect location (center city), clean, fully staffed, and tons of amenities. They have everything you need as a traveler (washer/dryer), breakfast, computers, and stuff to do. Great for the price.
  • 83%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Location could not be beat, and the free breakfast in the morning was a definite plus. Felt pretty nice for a hostel... was just disappointed by the greeting I got from the woman who checked me in, who was pretty curt and unfriendly. The two men working the checkin/out desk the next morning were much friendlier-- and smiled much more!
  • 74%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Meg USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »