See other Tokyo properties

Ace Inn Shinjuku

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 79% from 22 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice location, very quiet during the night. Nice common area. Only two showers for females, but never had any issue with waiting for the shower. Bed mattresses are quite thin, but it's the only thing I did not fully enjoy. Very nice hostel in general.
  • 80%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Marie France
  • One of my favorites! Near Shinjuku.
  • 83%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff were fantastic, hostel really clean, great place to stay in tokyo, highly recommend!
  • 97%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Abigail England
  • Last year was the first time that I booked this hostel (for 20 dlls). It wasn't the nicest or the newest one but it felt safe and clean. One year later I returned to Japan, this time (for 35 dlls) with my family and it was a different story. Carpets (rugs) where pretty dirty, you are supposed to take off your shoes at the entrance but it was so dirty that I couldn't take off my shoe (neither my family) and walk on that floor. Rooms where dirty as well, really smelly like they don't clean often.
  • 40%
  • 31 Mar 2014 YOSHI Mexico
  • Felt like a capsule hotel b/c each bunk bed has only 1 opening, but this is good if you like privacy. Biggest downside is lack of outlets next to your bed. The only ones are outside your capsule, so unless you are keeping a close eye on your phone, there is possibility it may get stolen (prob rare). Each room also has 24 beds, so it felt like an animal shelter. Bathrooms are average. The lounge upstairs has large areas of stained carpet and broken sofas. You are next to Akebonobashi station.
  • 54%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good points: The staff is friendly and speaks english (trust me, it is hard in Japan), the hostel is located 3 mins from the subway, nice travelers in the hostel; Bad points: There's no kitchen, there's no power outlets (I was charging my phone in the bathroom), you pay 100 yens for using the shower.
  • 69%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel was very cozy and comfortable. The capsules were much more spacey than I expected. I really enjoyed my stay, especially because the staff was so friendly and helpful. The common room is a good idea, but could use some newer furniture.
  • 86%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Mary USA
  • The Hostel was nice. The beds were okay and the staff were friendly. The price is a little high though.
  • 77%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Chris USA
  • Great hostel with a really good location. The upstairs social area is nice and spacious though the kitchen was a bit poor and there was dearth of plug sockets. Bed were nice and big and with a really comfy pillow. The lockers were a little thin, you might be hard pressed to get your luggage in there if it's big. The staff were nice and friendly with decent english ability and there was plenty of information on things nearby. Only major complaint was the pay showers.
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Marcus England
  • I really enjoyed my time at the Ace Inn Shinjuku. The capsules have a generous amount of room (enough to fit my luggage and myself in there to sleep). The 9th floor public area is a little run-down in some ways, but you get over it quickly when you join a group and start chit-chatting. I met lots of interesting people from around the world and even went out for drinks with a group of them. The Ace Inn Shinjuku is a great place for people looking to have fun and save some yen.
  • 74%
  • 15 Aug 2013 George USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »