See other Tokyo properties

Ace Inn Shinjuku

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 71% from 25 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Facilities are a bit spartan, but everything works. Staff is really nice! Friendly and helpful.
  • 74%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Joar Sweden
  • Not very clean. Very few outlets on the capsule floors, none in the capsules themselves. NO security -- anyone could just walk in to the hotel, to the floor, and the capsules only had curtains, so those didn't lock either. To make matters worse, you have to pass 2-3 bums camped out in cardboard boxes during the 3 minute walk from the subway to the hotel. I've lived in cities for years, and I don't mind having some bums, but in that situation, you need to have some security.
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Upon entering there is a strong smell of feet, because they encourage you to take your shoes off before entering the rooms.(Japanese thing) The staff was very friendly and spoke good english. The showers were always clean. The bathroom on my floor always had that weird calcium build-up smell. The beds are super hard. If your not used to or never have slept on the floor before then be prepared for an uncomfortable night. Overall my experience there wasn't bad. For $20 a night its okay.
  • 69%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Tanisha USA
  • Good location for reaching Shibuya and anywhere for being right in the middle. You'll need the train at any location. It's like a rundown hotel, some floors have perfect facilities, some needed repairs. Excellent staff, had the best instant coffee. As a traveller, it has all the facilities you'll need, BUT the common area was on the 9th floor, hence it lacks a good social atmosphere that makes travelling all the more enjoyable. I did actually make great friends here though!!
  • 77%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Tim England
  • Not a very good social environment and pretty filthy in various areas.
  • 49%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic staff, very helpful and friendly. Could perhaps be a little cleaner; a lot of the floors (especially in the common room) are quite filthy. Atmosphere and location are great, however!
  • 80%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The best of this hostel is the location, it is just a few meters away from the subway station and it is really easy to find. The staff was friendly and they were able to speak English, which is more than helpful in Japan, belive me. I really enjoyed my stay with them, clean, friendly and convenient.
  • 100%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Andres
  • The bathrooms were smelly. The capsule hotel level's bathroom smelled like used baby diapers. The beds were super hard. The staff was friendly and helpful.
  • 46%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Alexandra USA
  • The pods that you sleep in are fine. Comfy and clean. But the facilities in general need better cleaning and care. It smells like a dirty sock everywhere and especially the top floor (community center) is just plan disgusting.
  • 63%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • First off rooms and elevators smell like feet! Also you have to pay a 100 yen to use the shower. Plus side wifi throughout facility and english speaking staff.
  • 54%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »