See other Istanbul properties

Agora Hostel and Guesthouse

Akbiyik cad (street) Amiral Tafdil sk. no.6, Sultanahmet / Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 96% from 13 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 98%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Lovely & clean hostel right in the most interesting section of Istanbul. Vahap from the front desk (also known as Dr. Kelso) is hilarious and a terrific guide, plus a nice guy. He graciously helped me get to the hostel when I couldn't change my money at the airport, and I would have been out of luck otherwise. Thanks, guys! Very nice rooftop views as well. Be careful going up and down the stairs since there's no handrail, but that aside, there's no better place to stay in Istanbul. Enjoy!
  • 91%
  • 17 Jan 2015 Ron USA
  • Basically a hotel for hostel prices. The staff here is absolutely amazing. Having stayed in many hostels around the world, Agora is the gold standard. They even packed us lunch at 3 am before we left for the airport.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It is my 1st time to try hostels. My trip is 9 days. At first I booked 2 night just to try how hostels style is. I found this hostel, thae staff and the owner are very frindly and the place is so pleasent and clean. I decided to stay for 9 days until the end of my trip and I will book again in future. PS: they make amazing brownies in the breakfast :)
  • 100%
  • 09 Jan 2015 Ali Saudi Arabia
  • Great hostel, friendly and helpful staff. I would stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Nevenka Croatia
  • Orhan (I hope I am spelling his name correctly) was very kind and helpful during my stay in Istanbul. The other staff members were also friendly. The breakfast was amazing; especially the cakes and hot black tea. They'd even packed a breakfast for me one day when I had to leave before breakfast hours. You can't get better than that!
  • 100%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic hostel. I've stayed in many hostels all over Europe, and this ranks in top 5.
  • 100%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Yuliya USA
  • Very Cozy !!!
  • 97%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous Pakistan
  • I was pleasantly surprised, since I have stayed in some pretty bad hostels before. This was a great hostel. Aside from the fact that I had nine roommates, nothing about the hostel made it seem like a hostel. It was almost like a hotel. I couldn't believe how excellent this place was, especially given the price. The complimentary breakfast was excellent; the terrace view unbeatable; the staff simply the best. I stayed for 14 days, which is longer than average, but I would highly recommend Agora!
  • 100%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Isacar USA
  • Nice, clean, comfortable. The terrace+lounge, the breakfast and the staff are the star points of this hostel. We stayed in a double ensuite room, I really liked the bathroom, it's new, clean and quite nice. Mini-toiletteries (soap, shampoo and hair balsam) are given and clean towels every day. The lounge/terrace was above us, a big noisy in the mornings, may help it by putting some rubber caps on the end of the feet of the chairs? All in all, it was a very nice stay, good value for the money!
  • 100%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Hungary
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »