See other Amsterdam properties

Aivengo Hostel

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 75% from 37 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • i think it was very expensiv in the weekend. twice as much as in the week. that is crasy ! you only get a bed to sleep in,then i think it is expensiv. It was not a very sosial hostel, no facilities that i could see. A tip to the hostel : it had been nice with a trash can in the doorm room and in the shower room. And it had been nice with better light at the shower room. The bathrooms are very close to the reception, had been better with a door between the reception and bathroom... :)
  • 57%
  • 23 May 2014 Mariann Norway
  • I was in the girls dorm, it is a climb to the top of the building but it is really light and airy in there. Expect it to be communal. Lots of people to one bathroom but we didn't have trouble working it out. The staff were always helpful when I asked them for things. The location is perfect, right by Amsterdam Central and near the middle of this easily-travelled city--I could walk across it. Lots of great food-shops near by. Not shady at all and I've traveled around.
  • 71%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Bigger security lockers would have been nice. Shared one small locker with 2 other friends so limited to amount you could lock away.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • Staff and location are worth everything else, if you don't mind virtually no other space than your bed and toilets. Computers are available for internet (: Book in advance and confirm, many people want to go there and sometimes there are misunderstanding with booking orders.
  • 63%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Upon arrival, the staff not friendly at all, almost felt like I was bothering him (the other two guys that were there at a different time was much better). There is NO ELEVATOR in the building and I had to drag my suitcase up 5 stories in dark/narrow/spiraling stairways. The room had a very old horrible smell. Common area almost non-existence. "Kitchen" is almost a joke. The only good thing about this place is it's location.
  • 49%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was a fine hostel for the money. We just needed something in central. We slept in 16 (as I remember) persons dorm. The bed was fine. But the room smelled and was really hot. The toilet was ok. Not the best. But there is no room for relaxing or couches and stuff, which we missed. We only used the place for sleeping. But it is what it is. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep this is it.
  • 60%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Sophie Denmark
  • Great location. very friendly staff, overall a very good hostel.
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • This hotel is not really the best place to be, but if you need a cheap place to stay for a few days its alright. The so called "kitchen" is basically a fridge and a microwave standing in thr middle of the bathrooms. There are no common-areas or a table where you could sit and eat. The whole hostel is quite dark, I stayed in the 20 bed dorm which was pretty loud and cold thanks to the emergency door facing the sidewalk. It felt like the people on the street were standing straight at my bed.
  • 54%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Lisa Germany
  • The staff was helpfull by showing us the way to our room(the room was in st.jakobstraat).The room was clean but no windows inside which means that we had no actual light.We had access to tram(1min walk from the room) but the Dam square was 4-5mins walk anyway.4/5 from me(in comparison with other Amsterdam hostels).
  • 83%
  • 16 Mar 2014 ANDREAS Greece
  • Was a decent value, shower and bathrooms were very small.
  • 71%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »