See other Amsterdam properties

Aivengo Hostel

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 75% from 29 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was a fine hostel for the money. We just needed something in central. We slept in 16 (as I remember) persons dorm. The bed was fine. But the room smelled and was really hot. The toilet was ok. Not the best. But there is no room for relaxing or couches and stuff, which we missed. We only used the place for sleeping. But it is what it is. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep this is it.
  • 60%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Sophie Denmark
  • Great location. very friendly staff, overall a very good hostel.
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • This hotel is not really the best place to be, but if you need a cheap place to stay for a few days its alright. The so called "kitchen" is basically a fridge and a microwave standing in thr middle of the bathrooms. There are no common-areas or a table where you could sit and eat. The whole hostel is quite dark, I stayed in the 20 bed dorm which was pretty loud and cold thanks to the emergency door facing the sidewalk. It felt like the people on the street were standing straight at my bed.
  • 54%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Lisa Germany
  • The staff was helpfull by showing us the way to our room(the room was in st.jakobstraat).The room was clean but no windows inside which means that we had no actual light.We had access to tram(1min walk from the room) but the Dam square was 4-5mins walk anyway.4/5 from me(in comparison with other Amsterdam hostels).
  • 83%
  • 16 Mar 2014 ANDREAS Greece
  • There was an older woman in my room who made me feel very uncomfortable. The price was awesome!!! It was a little spread out which was difficult when not all my friends were in my room. FANTASTIC location The lockers were small and I could not put all my stuff in it.
  • 91%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Samantha USA
  • There was amazing friendly staff most of the time, there is one guy that works there, we didn't catch his name, however the other staff already knew who we were talking about, he needs some customer service skills, so that guests don't feel as though they are the problem for staying there, or needing help.
  • 86%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Jaime-lynn Canada
  • Hostel is great...it´s in the center of town like 5 min from Central Station... Trust me it´s too cheap for it´s location. We got double bed room it´s like king size bed you can fit 5 people inside...big bathroom...really fantastic :-)
  • 86%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Anonymous Croatia
  • One room only in the hostel with about 30-40 beds, the kitchen is a microwave with a sink, unfriendly, atmosphere is tense, the toilets were awful to use (cramped and stunk) which are pretty much located in the kitchen, 4am curfew, there is someone there to let you in incase. Its expensive for the hole it is, pay an extra 10 or so a night an stay in a hotel
  • 51%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Daniel New Zealand
  • staff is very helpful, great location, good price, but there wasn't proper common room, it was a bit cold during the night and there weren't enough sockets.
  • 83%
  • 03 Jun 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • Liked the architecture (it's basically just a rowhouse with a room on each floor) and location, but the beds were awful, and the kitchen set-up in the larger rooms is quite disruptive. Not sure I would return here.
  • 69%
  • 27 May 2013 Erin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »