See other Amsterdam properties

Aivengo Hostel

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 73% from 45 reviews

  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I knew the dorms would be crowded with lots of beds but I booked anyway, as it was a pretty cheap hostel. However, looking at pictures I was expecting that there was a nice common room and kitchen. I think these are for people with private rooms only. I was sleeping in the dorm giving on the street and it was very noisy as the window is not well isolated. So if you want something cheap, there you go. Otherwise, you could consider spending a few extra bucks to get a cooler hostel.
  • 66%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Avoid this hostel! While trying to check in, the proprietor abruptly cancelled my reservation and kicked me out just because I asked to pay one night at a time (and they require a 2-night stay). Also, this is a strange and cramped little place, with only two large dorm rooms and no other space -- no lounge, no eating area, nothing else.
  • 51%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Well located, near the train station. "Cheap" for Amsterdam standards but the hostel is nothing special. Just two huge rooms with 20+ beds, shower are small, not enough plugs and there is no common areas.
  • 60%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • The only good thing is the location ... moreover, never come back! I dont recommend!
  • 46%
  • 07 Aug 2014 luiz antonio Brazil
  • It's a nice place, the only bad thig was that there weren't hot shower one whole day, but the it was fixed.
  • 74%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The dorm is pretty big and no lockers. :(
  • 60%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Doran Canada
  • i think it was very expensiv in the weekend. twice as much as in the week. that is crasy ! you only get a bed to sleep in,then i think it is expensiv. It was not a very sosial hostel, no facilities that i could see. A tip to the hostel : it had been nice with a trash can in the doorm room and in the shower room. And it had been nice with better light at the shower room. The bathrooms are very close to the reception, had been better with a door between the reception and bathroom... :)
  • 57%
  • 23 May 2014 Mariann Norway
  • I was in the girls dorm, it is a climb to the top of the building but it is really light and airy in there. Expect it to be communal. Lots of people to one bathroom but we didn't have trouble working it out. The staff were always helpful when I asked them for things. The location is perfect, right by Amsterdam Central and near the middle of this easily-travelled city--I could walk across it. Lots of great food-shops near by. Not shady at all and I've traveled around.
  • 71%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Bigger security lockers would have been nice. Shared one small locker with 2 other friends so limited to amount you could lock away.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • Staff and location are worth everything else, if you don't mind virtually no other space than your bed and toilets. Computers are available for internet (: Book in advance and confirm, many people want to go there and sometimes there are misunderstanding with booking orders.
  • 63%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »