See other Anchorage properties

Alaska Backpackers Inn

409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 60% from 9 reviews

  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 64%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very disappointing hostel. It has the potential to be a decent place, however there are many things that require improvement. Our room was dirty, it had not been vacuumed, the shared bathroom was out of paper, there was no fly screen on the window. Staff were only available from the office - a block away. The entrance area smelled bad. The main kitchen was a mess and had no crockery or cutlery. The second kitchen was better, but poorly equipped. There was a SWAT team that showed up one night!
  • 43%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • I came in very late, so only a top bunk was available. Heat was on although it wasn't particularly cold out. I slept poorly because the room was so hot. The location is convenient. Instead of taking a taxi for $20, I would recommend (if you're a solo traveler) taking the airport shuttle that only costs $10. (I didn't learn about this until my second stay here.) I understand their number is posted at the airport. They run 24/7.
  • 74%
  • 28 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent atention, Jorja its great!!! its near everything. The only thing you must take care is the time you arrive, because they dont have check inn 24hs.
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Lidia Argentina
  • When I checked in, the staff said there were no towels available and it was late at night. She was quite rude and unhelpful and I travel frequently all over the U.S. and internationally too. It did not feel clean or safe either. It is not centrally located downtown so you need to walk at least 15-20 minutes to reach the good restaurants or shopping.
  • 34%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Kitchen in annex...no cutlery...no cups or glasses... No free coffe or tea as offer in publicity...
  • 60%
  • 31 Jul 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • The beds need updating badly as there are terrible lumps in the mattresses. Floors need better maintenance and the people supposedly doing the housekeeping need more over sight.
  • 54%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Betty USA
  • very nasty.It is not clean and stinks.
  • 26%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Maninder USA
  • The overall demographic was more transient than traveller with the front door often left ajar for pretty much anyone to get in. The person at the front seemed worn from tough personal interactions and demands. Bunk room was clean, clean linens, good lockers, strong secure door, not much noise at night on the second floor. Bathrooms were clean and not trashy. The cleaning person came through really early to avoid peak times, which we appreciated! $30/person in a 2-bunk dorm seems average.
  • 63%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Noelle USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »