See other Montreal properties

Alexandrie-Montréal

1750 Amherst, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 87% from 36 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The only thing that I was concern is that this Hostel have not shower private rooms, mans took showers in front of everbody, that was not good, and for the price weekdays $25.00 and for weekend $28.00 was a little expensive without shower room.
  • 74%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Alfredo USA
  • Truly amazed at the 'organization' of the hostel, and the ability to accommodate all from over the world, and age groups. All the staff are very informed and able to direct guests to most places, events, etc. So, you have a great idea of where you are going, before you start. And, I am grateful for the ability to rent a bike right at the place with relevant security. Great pancake breakfast and/or toasts with spreads. Great 'parc', 'busline', 'roof-top'!!
  • 100%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Cory - one of the staff members - was very welcoming and if he was feeling up to it he would make pancakes for breakfast. The hostel has scheduled events and/or tours e.g. the TamTam festival or Sangria night... Sangria night was cancelled because the hostel was busy... you'd think that would be even more reason to have it! Also, it says that it is a 20 bunk bedroom. This is a little misleading. There are multiple rooms with bunks, just no doors. So you aren't sharing 1 room with 20 others!
  • 74%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Wanda New Zealand
  • I had a great stay!
  • 89%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Julie Canada
  • The hostel atmosphere is really unique and amazing. Also the staff is really friendly and helpful.
  • 89%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Dora Hungary
  • The staff were great, with lots of tips for where to go, making pancakes for breakfast, and giving free tours of the city. They kept the place very clean, the location was great (10-15 minutes from the bus station), and my friends and I felt very comfortable there. My only complaint is that the Internet was slow and only available in the common area, but that's not actually a big deal. And it was a great price!!
  • 97%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The whole building is pretty old and not clean. No A/C in the room. VERY poor shower facility. Service hours are too short. You can add couple dollars more per night and find way better places.
  • 63%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Jung Wok South Korea
  • I would only re ommend it to young and/or adventerous travellers who don't mind the little things that don't work. I stayed in the part of the building you canreach from the back staircase and that was my main problem: This staircase has a big hole below the handrail, so I can not recommend it to families with children, people who come home drunk, anyone who is clumsy... So who's left? Stuntmen?
  • 66%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • Great hostels, great location and friendly staff!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Paul
  • Best hostel if youre under 30! We got the double room and it was perfect: kitchen has tons of pots, our room backed right onto the terrace (which is where most people chill). Staff is incredible (and are so easy going), its a great place to meet other people if youre in a smaller groups, everyone was so friendly and we tagged along with people every night. Its not perfect, but its so cheap and you cant beat the atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend, def going back! Good location and great set up! xx
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anniek Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »