See other Montreal properties

Alexandrie-Montréal

1750 Amherst, Montreal, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.7km

Rating: 87% from 40 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The whole building is pretty old and not clean. No A/C in the room. VERY poor shower facility. Service hours are too short. You can add couple dollars more per night and find way better places.
  • 63%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Jung Wok South Korea
  • I would only re ommend it to young and/or adventerous travellers who don't mind the little things that don't work. I stayed in the part of the building you canreach from the back staircase and that was my main problem: This staircase has a big hole below the handrail, so I can not recommend it to families with children, people who come home drunk, anyone who is clumsy... So who's left? Stuntmen?
  • 66%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Austria
  • Great hostels, great location and friendly staff!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Paul
  • Best hostel if youre under 30! We got the double room and it was perfect: kitchen has tons of pots, our room backed right onto the terrace (which is where most people chill). Staff is incredible (and are so easy going), its a great place to meet other people if youre in a smaller groups, everyone was so friendly and we tagged along with people every night. Its not perfect, but its so cheap and you cant beat the atmosphere. 10/10 would recommend, def going back! Good location and great set up! xx
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anniek Canada
  • This was my first time ever staying in a hostel, and I was just astounded by how wonderful every aspect of this hostel. The facilities were great, I felt quite at home and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Cory. I recommend staying in the 20 bed dorm, everyone was friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed being in Montreal, but honestly, the best part of my trip was staying at the Alexandrie.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Beat up but well loved, the place has a great staff and a good relaxed atmorpshere.
  • 80%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were very helpful and I met some fantastic people during my stay!
  • 91%
  • 06 Jun 2014 James USA
  • Easy to find, especially great for those traveling by Greyhound. Definitely best for younger folks with a cool vibe. Still, as an older woman, the staff was kind and welcoming. If you have valuables, bring a lock!
  • 71%
  • 24 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in, great value for money and a great atmosphere, the staff are really friendly and it's also pretty close to old montreal :)
  • 97%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Really friendly staff, clean, excellent communal facilities, good value. Well situated for the quartier latin, a little further out for downton/old Montreal, but still just about within walking distance.
  • 97%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »