See other New York properties

American Dream Hostel

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 84% from 30 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our experience staying at the American Dream Hostel was fantastic! The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly, also, the breakfast that was provided every morning was wonderful. 10/10 would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • I really enjoyed the hostel. Location, staf, breakfast was great. Only poor part was the room, it was enough size, but could be cleaner, and the bed sheets and blankets were stained, and should definately be changed and washed more often. Shared bathrooms were very clean.
  • 77%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • I was really impressed with American Dream Hostel! It was clean, comfortable and I really liked they provided breakfast. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Angelica Canada
  • The best hostel I have ever been! Hostel has an excellent selection of food, drinks and afternoon snack like nuts and dry fruits. My room has TV and full size bed which is quite unexpected for hostels. Hostel is very clean and stuff are nice and very friendly.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Lela USA
  • The staff are very friendly. The place is easy to connect with subway and buses.
  • 86%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Tran Vietnam
  • Nice place to stay in Manhattan cheap and central. It's clean and the people are friendly and helpful. Self-service breakfast with a good choice in a common kitchen. Only negative point is that it's getting cold in the night in the room.
  • 83%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Jenifer Germany
  • Very cozy, great breakfast, great location
  • 94%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • Rooms were far too small!! Could barely get our bags into the room. Plus we had to drag our 20kg bags up 3 flights of stairs without any assistance. There is no friendly atmosphere and couldn't meet other room mates at social events etc arranged by the hostel. Location was good but would never stay here again.
  • 63%
  • 21 Oct 2013 stacey Australia
  • We really enjoyed our stay in the American Dream Hostel in NY. Although our room was quite small, it was really clean like the bathrooms were too. The breakfast was great, bagels, toast, fresh waffles, fruits, cereals and more were offered. Staff was really nice and it is easy to get to know people there. When I was looking for a hostel in NY, it was the cheapest with a good rating, but I didn't expect much. After having stayed there I can say that I would always book it again when coming to NY.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Lisa
  • We were happy with this hostel (compared to other New York hostels we have experience), great staff and location, couldn´t get better. There was also breakfast included and good wifi -connection. Would definitely go again and recommend to everyone.
  • 94%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Tiina Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »