See other New York properties

American Dream Hostel

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 86% from 29 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My first time ever in a Hostel and I loved it! The location is excellent, East 24th Street is less than 10 blocks away from Grand Central and Times Square. Perfect location for getting to all the main attractions. Overall the atmosphere in the Hostel is great, rooms are clean although you do get quite a bit of noise from the outside and as NY is a 24/7 city, I would recommend ear plugs if you're not used to this. Breakfast at the Hostel is excellent, the American Dream!
  • 77%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • About the hostel, it may be important to know that there are only one shower and one toilet per floor (comprising 10-15 rooms), and this is pretty much the worst cons for staying there (not the stairs, frankly). On the other hand, one should recognize that bathrooms were as clean as they could reasonably be in such a situation. For the pros, location is good, staff is always friendly, breakfast is magnificent (made me very pleased, indeed), and American Dream is a perfect name!
  • 83%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • GREAT LOCATION. you could see the empire state building just by walking like 3 minutes. Rooms are really clean and the breakfast its great. the best thing is that they dont close the kitchen so all the extra fruits and stuff from morning you can eat whenever you come hungry in the night back home :)
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • I had really bad experience there Everything in the hostel were nice but when i got home started the terrible inconvenient. The hostel charged on my credit card all payment when i had paid by cash directly at the hostel when i arrived. Other bad thing is that they have not had answer to the problem and they have not given me the money back, even i sent the receipt payment to clarify. I recommend to all people to be careful when you pay in the hostel & check the receipt to dont have my same probl
  • 63%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Colombia
  • Had a two week stay at the American Dream Hostel and was very impressed. It has a great central location, with easy access to all the touristy places whether on foot or on public transport, but is also in a quiet enough area to make you feel like you are in a more 'real' New York. You never feel unsafe nearby or that your room is at risk. The hostel always felt very clean, and the provided breakfast was always good, and a nice way to meet other guests. I would definitely recommend.
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great location, value for money and free delicious breakfasts :) It's excellent hostel for thegroup of young people. I'll recommend this hostel my friends.
  • 89%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Tatiana Russia
  • I absolutely loved this place. It was close to numerous subway lines, and the Midtown location was central. The staff were all very friendly, the room was clean and quiet. They even have a cat that lives in the building, who befriended me, which was a great added touch! I did not take advantage of the breakfast, so cannot comment on that, and the only thing I would have desired was an easy way to open the window in my room. It was cool outside, and I would've preferred the fresh AC. Recommended!
  • 97%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect location and the breakfasts were amazing. I would not recommend this place if you have an issue with stairs. It is the perfect place if you are an independent traveller. There are a lot of brochures as you walk in the door which help you find your way. It's walking distance to upper and lower or you can catch public transport - the choice is yours. The staff were friendly enough but didn't go out of their way - they do answer your questions when you ask.
  • 80%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Jackie Australia
  • We really liked this Hostel, the location is great and it is very clean. We took a room for 3 and it was a a little bit tight but appropriate. The kitchen is nice and the breakfast they offer was good. We definitely recommend it.
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Patricia Panama
  • Our experience staying at the American Dream Hostel was fantastic! The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly, also, the breakfast that was provided every morning was wonderful. 10/10 would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »