See other New York properties

American Dream Hostel

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 87% from 15 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved my stay. Snacks were awesome.
  • 100%
  • 28 Apr 2016 Aaron USA
  • A really good hostel! Good location just a few blocks away from the subway and in walking distance to mostly of the tourist things on Manhattan. A good breakfast and always fresh fruits in the kitchen. Clean toilets and showers. I will absolutely recommend this hostel to friens going to NYC!
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2016 David Sweden
  • BUYER BEWARE! I booked a three bed private room and received a two bed private room that sleeps 3 very uncomfortably. We paid for three beds and got two beds. This made for a very bad NYC trip. The staff were indifferent about this issue even though I provided them evidence of my THREE bed reservation. Hostels.com customer service has been unhelpful and continue disputing the simple fact of 3 beds vs. 2 beds.
  • 43%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Kennan USA
  • Good location, nice decoration, clean, nice variety of breakfast.
  • 80%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Batirtze Spain
  • Great host! It was very clean and I always felt safe. It was situated in a very convenient area as well.
  • 100%
  • 19 Aug 2015 ANA Mexico
  • Good location, near to everything. Good staff and a very good breakfast. The rooms are very small but the necessary just to sleep. As we have already know rooms without restrooms are unlikely, but you deal well with it if you are prepared to be practice.
  • 83%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Ana Catarina Portugal
  • Everything was great!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Timothy USA
  • American Dream Hostel lives up to its name. I have stayed there twice and the place is wonderful, but even more so is their staff. 10/10 would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Excellent staff and great neighborhood, felt safe. Room was great, towels provided, air conditioning provided, showers great, awesome free breakfast. Would definitely stay again.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »