See other New York properties

American Dream Hostel

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 85% from 35 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I brought my family to NYC over February school break, this hostel is secure and clean, close to 2 different subway lines. There is plenty of linen, blankets and towels; soaps and shampoos left behind by the other guests. The rooms are small but clean and warm with an extra heater in the room. There is only one shower per floor, and 2 toilets per floor that are both shared. Great breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Mary USA
  • Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at American Dream Hostel. Location was great being close to subway stations for the main lines. Made getting anywhere very easy. The facilities were great and breakfast is a bonus. Highly recommended!!
  • 83%
  • 04 Jan 2015 James New Zealand
  • Everything is fine! however, care for using shower, because it is really hard fot making proper temperture for shower XD
  • 83%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I spent 5 nights at American Dream Hostel and I enjoyed. The rooms are very good and all other facilities are clean. The breakfast is fantastic with lots of pastries and fresh fruit! Locoation is good too with plenty of restaurants and shops around and there is not too much street noise. The only remark I have is for some of the staff: although helpful when asked for, they could be a little bit more enthusiastic or welcoming at times, a simple 'hello' when you walk in would be enough.
  • 77%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Sven Belgium
  • We had a really good stay at American Dream. Everything was really clean and breakfast was great!
  • 89%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Kim Sweden
  • The staff in the hostel are very friendly.
  • 89%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Yongjun Singapore
  • My first time ever in a Hostel and I loved it! The location is excellent, East 24th Street is less than 10 blocks away from Grand Central and Times Square. Perfect location for getting to all the main attractions. Overall the atmosphere in the Hostel is great, rooms are clean although you do get quite a bit of noise from the outside and as NY is a 24/7 city, I would recommend ear plugs if you're not used to this. Breakfast at the Hostel is excellent, the American Dream!
  • 77%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • About the hostel, it may be important to know that there are only one shower and one toilet per floor (comprising 10-15 rooms), and this is pretty much the worst cons for staying there (not the stairs, frankly). On the other hand, one should recognize that bathrooms were as clean as they could reasonably be in such a situation. For the pros, location is good, staff is always friendly, breakfast is magnificent (made me very pleased, indeed), and American Dream is a perfect name!
  • 83%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • GREAT LOCATION. you could see the empire state building just by walking like 3 minutes. Rooms are really clean and the breakfast its great. the best thing is that they dont close the kitchen so all the extra fruits and stuff from morning you can eat whenever you come hungry in the night back home :)
  • 100%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • I had really bad experience there Everything in the hostel were nice but when i got home started the terrible inconvenient. The hostel charged on my credit card all payment when i had paid by cash directly at the hostel when i arrived. Other bad thing is that they have not had answer to the problem and they have not given me the money back, even i sent the receipt payment to clarify. I recommend to all people to be careful when you pay in the hostel & check the receipt to dont have my same probl
  • 63%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Colombia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »