See other New York properties

American Dream Hostel

168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.4km

Rating: 88% from 25 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great host! It was very clean and I always felt safe. It was situated in a very convenient area as well.
  • 100%
  • 19 Aug 2015 ANA Mexico
  • Good location, near to everything. Good staff and a very good breakfast. The rooms are very small but the necessary just to sleep. As we have already know rooms without restrooms are unlikely, but you deal well with it if you are prepared to be practice.
  • 83%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Ana Catarina Portugal
  • Everything was great!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Timothy USA
  • American Dream Hostel lives up to its name. I have stayed there twice and the place is wonderful, but even more so is their staff. 10/10 would stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Excellent staff and great neighborhood, felt safe. Room was great, towels provided, air conditioning provided, showers great, awesome free breakfast. Would definitely stay again.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very homelike feeling. Loved the free breakfast. Great that you had your own room. Very good location.
  • 80%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • I brought my family to NYC over February school break, this hostel is secure and clean, close to 2 different subway lines. There is plenty of linen, blankets and towels; soaps and shampoos left behind by the other guests. The rooms are small but clean and warm with an extra heater in the room. There is only one shower per floor, and 2 toilets per floor that are both shared. Great breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Mary USA
  • Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at American Dream Hostel. Location was great being close to subway stations for the main lines. Made getting anywhere very easy. The facilities were great and breakfast is a bonus. Highly recommended!!
  • 83%
  • 04 Jan 2015 James New Zealand
  • Everything is fine! however, care for using shower, because it is really hard fot making proper temperture for shower XD
  • 83%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I spent 5 nights at American Dream Hostel and I enjoyed. The rooms are very good and all other facilities are clean. The breakfast is fantastic with lots of pastries and fresh fruit! Locoation is good too with plenty of restaurants and shops around and there is not too much street noise. The only remark I have is for some of the staff: although helpful when asked for, they could be a little bit more enthusiastic or welcoming at times, a simple 'hello' when you walk in would be enough.
  • 77%
  • 09 Dec 2014 Sven Belgium
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »