See other Amsterdam properties

Amigo Hostel Amsterdam

Linnaeusstraat 199-201, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 76% from 28 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good price and location. Unless you have to pay for the locker. Which then would've made it average price. Not having my own locker made me have to hug my things while I slept. Food was well priced at the hostel. All in all, a good deal.
  • 60%
  • 16 Oct 2016 Sammy USA
  • It was a nice stay. The area is pretty nice, although not extremely close to the central area of Dam by walk. However, it's not entirely far, coming from London makes these distances quite alright. The area is definitely cheaper than central Dam, and there is a supermarket about 3 mins walk. The staff are helpful and friendly! The room we had rented was pretty nice and tidy. Oh, and there is a smokers' room if that's your thang.
  • 83%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Wiktor England
  • We stayed for two nights, wanting to stay at a decent place for cheap. You get what you pay for. Overall, this place does its job; it's a place to sleep. There are very steep steps to reception, and then plenty more to get up to the rooms. We (a couple) stayed in a six bed dorm. Simple small rooms with bunks. The room was hot, but had decent airflow. The big thing is the TINY bathrooms. Your legs will hit the door. But all was fairly clean. The showers were single privates. Location was decent.
  • 74%
  • 18 Jul 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Recommend fos solo traveller seeking for place to rest . Decent stay
  • 66%
  • 20 May 2016 Tuan Anh Vietnam
  • Convenient with 3 tram lines close by, really cheap, very friendly and helpful staff that are available 24 hours a day.
  • 89%
  • 18 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • Amigo Hostel is the best hostel in Amsterdam. You should definitely go and stay there. The staff is very cool and nice. It´s clean, safe and they also have a smoking room ( if you know what I mean by that ;) ).
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2016 Silvia Germany
  • First of all you have to climb the stairs with your bag, second you train your legs trying to use the toilet because it's dirty and you don't want to touch anything. After this everything is ok, rooms are confortable and clean, common places are ok, people I've met were great... It just cost 13e in Amsterdam, so it's good for the price.
  • 74%
  • 20 Mar 2016 Victor Spain
  • Really clean for a hostel, great staff, easy checkin/checkout, fast help.
  • 89%
  • 06 Mar 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Me and 4 friends have visited Amigo hostel. Room has really sufficient space for 5-6 people, toilet/shower room is available inside the room and one more on our floor. Fridge is inside the room. Room is perfectly clean and modern. Smoking in room is strictly forbidden but there is a special room for smokers where you can meet good people. Hostel is in 10 minutes walk from the closest train station and 30-40 minutes by walk from the city center. Administration is very friendly. Enjoy:)
  • 91%
  • 22 Feb 2016 Maksym Ukraine
  • Wonderful stay. Thanks to casa
  • 100%
  • 07 Feb 2016 Ilias Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »