See other Amsterdam properties

Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein

Korte Leidsedwarstraat 79, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 71% from 17 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall I enjoyed my stay Hostel is located in one of the cities hotspots, so do not expect much silence at night as bars and clubs in the area are usually open til 4 in the morning Bathroom was a bit small for a dormitory and rather dirty, showercurtain was moldy, and the showerhead broken. Bunkbeds don't have ladders
  • 71%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Anonymous Belgium
  • I'd recommend this hostel if you're staying in a large group. You can all fit in the room, which includes a shower+toilet (seperated). There's a small refridgerator which you share with other guests. WiFi works fine. The breakfast wasn't worth it. Only available from 8-9.30 and the was only sliced bread that was very dry, as if it had been out of the fridge for a week or so. Lastly, we paid with a non-dutch regular bankcard and had to pay 5% extra (on top of the bank currency exchange rate)
  • 74%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Sem Netherlands
  • This hostel, have a really bad and incompetent staff. Really disappointing at a hostel. A friend and I, booked 2 nights at this hostel, and when we arrived, we could not get a key to our room. We had to get the staffs key, and return it within 5 min. We got promised keys the day after. We only got 1 key, but we paid for 2 deposits to the keys. So when we checked out. We returned the one key and got 10 Euro back in deposit. Even tho we should have gotten 20 euros. very expensive hostel.
  • 49%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Tobias Lee Denmark
  • Bread + jelly + peanut butter = IS NOT A BREAKFAST!!! The staff is sooooo bad! They wake up at 10 in the morning to check if you pay for that day!!!
  • 31%
  • 20 May 2015 Daniela Argentina
  • horrible. Was there for 10 days and paid 50 euros a night. huge waste of money considering you get a bunk bed and you are with 7 other people...One of the receptionists was awful when i asked if it would be possible for the cleaning man who speaks zero english to knock before barging in first thing in the morning to make sure there are no unwarranted guests...he knew it was only 2 girls in room. i dont care if its a dorm knocking is polite, he didnt leave when he saw we werent dressed.
  • 40%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Ashley USA
  • It was a nice stay here..
  • 97%
  • 19 Apr 2015 Anonymous India
  • This hostel is situated near the center of Amsterdam. I think, this hostel is good version for a budget trip. Is it for students? Yes. There are many bars and nigth clubs near the hostel.
  • 71%
  • 19 Jan 2015 NIKOLAI Russia
  • Very nice staff, perfect location, very affordable . No lockers, noisy, the bathroom wasn't very clean, NO ELECTRIC POWER OUTLET IN THE ROOM!
  • 80%
  • 09 Dec 2014 JOSSELIN France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »