See other Amsterdam properties

Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Leidsekruistraat 14, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 67% from 24 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 57%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • exellent hostel
  • 100%
  • 28 Jan 2014 Giuseppe Italy
  • we walked from main station (dont remember the name :p) when we first got there. it was super duper hard to carry my suitcase, i should have used tram 5 but i didnt know where it was heading and really didnt use it, anyway it was such a tiny building but still everything was pretty fine. two of my girls were using private room for two person, and i and other girl was using sharing one. and to be honest, sharing one is much better except there will be few couples who shag in that public room.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jan 2014 HA RAN South Korea
  • The location is not so bad. It is quite near the museums. We rented a bike, and it won't take long to ride to the city center. But I have to say The room are narrow and the bunk bed is a bit low. And the toilet is too small. The staff is kindly and he gave each of us a postcard when we checked out.
  • 63%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • I've never stayed in a worst hostel in my life. mold was growing everywhere, the shower was not cleaned nor the bathroom in what seemed like a very long time. it's across the street from a Mexican restaurant that plays music until 5am. people smoked weed in the room. the free breakfast was great for gluten free people because there was only toast. don't do it!
  • 29%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Majelle Canada
  • very nice
  • 100%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • Staff misbehaved. Cancelled the booking made on their own. Please do not go.
  • 20%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous India
  • The staff was really nice but the facilities were not good. The grafiti on the bathroom walls was sketchy, the beds were ducked taped together and there was absolutely no form of security. Also did not like the fact we had to pay to leave our bags there.
  • 46%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Sheryl Canada
  • Very good location, but this perhaps means you can get away with not providing some basics. Just needed a general clean really, and maybe some lockers.
  • 54%
  • 07 Sep 2013 James England
  • though you will need to take to many stairs to get to your room through those narrow aisles, still I think it is a nice hostel to stay at after staying at that first awful hostel- hostel orfeo-. but the wifi connection barely works, the staff is friendly and helpful. next time I would stay there
  • 83%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Turkey
  • very good location, even donot need to take bus or metro to the center, we can walk along the business street till to the dam square and red light district. The room is bit small, the bed is not really stable. We have free breakfast though.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jul 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »