See other Amsterdam properties

Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati

Sarphatipark 58, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 59% from 18 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 44%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 53%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, friendly staff, free breakfast:), and the list goes on! C'était très bon hostel. C'est proche de la centre et cafés, le petite dejeuner est gratuite, et les tryavailleurs sont très genials
  • 97%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Taryn USA
  • Very nice place in a good location. It's not in the heart of the city, but there is a Tram stop right outside the hostel to accommodate for that. The prices are fantastic and any other hostel couldn't even compete.
  • 97%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is good, however, the hardest thing is to carry your luggage to your room because the stairs are really straight with tiny degrees. The room was the smallest that I've ever been, but it was really clean.
  • 80%
  • 27 Oct 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Not clean, no security for valuable stuff, its very dirty, they dont change the sheets, no space in the rooms because of the amount of people , often no one in the reception (which means no security and long waiting time to enter in the night) , no ladder to my bed
  • 26%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Mathias Lange-Kornbak Denmark
  • Nice accomodation, if not a bit cosy. Good location, great atmosphere. As good a hostel as I've been to In its price range.
  • 80%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Ben New Zealand
  • 1. If you have a reservation and pay some money by credit card, they are blocked all money (for staying at room) on your account plus you must pay CASH before they give you a keys. Effect is: you are looking euronet, and your rommates are waitng for the keys in very small corridor.
  • 40%
  • 20 Jun 2015 Maciej Poland
  • The location was good - extremely accessible by tram which is an easy way to get around - & was close to the Albert Cuyp market. They provided a nice basic breakfast. Minimal cooking facilities (just a microwave) & tiny bar fridge. I'm a small person but beds were small even for me (too skinny and short), no ladder for top bunks (just a wooden box) & nothing to stop me falling out EITHER SIDE. Room was too crowded with 8 beds. Not bad for the price but just know what you're getting
  • 51%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Free breakfast is a bit of a stretch for what this place serves. It is bread with peanut butter and jam. No toast, there is no toaster there. Very disappointing. Otherwise the wifi was increadibly slow and very spotty. First time hostel goer here so I may be describing the norm but from accounts of other people staying at this hostel it was one of the poorer ones. I can give it that it was in a good location, the bars around it were really fun and it's a nice walk to the centre.
  • 63%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Viktoria Canada
  • There are no lockers included. The location is decent but there are many more central hostels in Amsterdam. The night staff was unfriendly. The atmosphere was nothing special, and the kitchen facility has no hob and very little crockery. It was the cheapest we could find, so the value was OK.
  • 40%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Baran
  • Nicely situated, quiet neighborhood, tram stop just in front of the entrance, kind and well-informed staff. A bit boring inside, but that's not why one visits Amsterdam, right?
  • 74%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Arkadiusz Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »