See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 58 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The best part about the place is that it is very close to a number of tourist spots. Chinatown, City Hall, the Symphony Hall all are very close by. Perfect place if you just have to crash for the night. Try to avoid walking down Taylor street during the evening though. Does not feel very safe. You can always take buses, there are quite a few bus stops near the hostel
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous India
  • Everything was great!!!
  • 100%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Mihaela Romania
  • it was very nice to meet all of staff who were really helpful and nicer to everyone. I really appreciated that they were help me through my vacation in SF Thanks alot!!
  • 77%
  • 02 Oct 2014 yunlip South Korea
  • It was good. Thanks again.
  • 89%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Zsolt-Janos
  • one of the guys working on the reception was kind of really stupid, other than this if you are not expecting something more than a hostel it's good for you. Good downtown location, accessible to everywhere. They have coffee/tea and crepe for breakfast.
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • The room was OK. Except the actual location of the room. It was right next to the community kitchen and the eating area. It kind of felt like the room for people who would work there. The staff was nice, but I really didn't think they needed to remove our bedsheets after the first night. When I spoke to the front desk, I learned they should not have been in the room until after we left. So everyone felt a little "violated" with all our stuff out and no lockers or safe in he room.
  • 66%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Quiet and very helpful staff. Great place for the money. Offered if you wanted tours about the city. I'm always impress with this place. Thank you
  • 89%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Michele
  • I didn't go but they charge me the same cause I didn't remember to cancel the reservation and they not even call.
  • 54%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Santiago Argentina
  • Although Amsterdam Hostel has a great location, atmosphere was sub-par and the breakfast option (making your own pancakes) was less-than-ideal. Good value for the money though.
  • 74%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Got bed bugs!! Even brought then back home. Search an awful experience. Really disappointed by the manager that seamed to find this normal and did bit even offer a price reduction. A member of the staff took this so litly that told me "I just have to put moisturizing cream"
  • 54%
  • 24 Aug 2014 chantal Switzerland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »