See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 60 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everyone was nice, many foreign travelers. I like that a kitchen is offered to cook dinner in but the kitchen was quite dirty. I was glad the bathrooms were clean with hot water but my sheets had several strands of straight black and blond hair in them. It wasn't mine because I'm african american with course thick hair so I didn't trust anything after that. The pillows were fluffy and soft but I slept on the top bunk bed which was life threatening every time I used the half ladder to get down.
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2014 Patrice USA
  • It was a lot of fun overall the people that stood there from all places across the world.
  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • nice place. nice people. nice time.
  • 86%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Jack Australia
  • This hostel have a very international atmosphere. The common area are narrow so you cant help meeting and talking to other people. That's in general a good thing but like the kitchen is too small for that amount of people with long lines waiting to cook. The hostel is very dirty and rundown. I think it use to be a nice place but nothing has been done for years. The stickers on the frontdoor from '85 and '94 reminds you of this.
  • 57%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Tilde Andrea Denmark
  • The best part about the place is that it is very close to a number of tourist spots. Chinatown, City Hall, the Symphony Hall all are very close by. Perfect place if you just have to crash for the night. Try to avoid walking down Taylor street during the evening though. Does not feel very safe. You can always take buses, there are quite a few bus stops near the hostel
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous India
  • Everything was great!!!
  • 100%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Mihaela Romania
  • it was very nice to meet all of staff who were really helpful and nicer to everyone. I really appreciated that they were help me through my vacation in SF Thanks alot!!
  • 77%
  • 02 Oct 2014 yunlip South Korea
  • It was good. Thanks again.
  • 89%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Zsolt-Janos
  • one of the guys working on the reception was kind of really stupid, other than this if you are not expecting something more than a hostel it's good for you. Good downtown location, accessible to everywhere. They have coffee/tea and crepe for breakfast.
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • The room was OK. Except the actual location of the room. It was right next to the community kitchen and the eating area. It kind of felt like the room for people who would work there. The staff was nice, but I really didn't think they needed to remove our bedsheets after the first night. When I spoke to the front desk, I learned they should not have been in the room until after we left. So everyone felt a little "violated" with all our stuff out and no lockers or safe in he room.
  • 66%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »