See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 79 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I've been in Hostels in Europe (Madrid, London, Paris, Rome). The non-private rooms were better than the twin private room I've stayed in Amsterdam Hostel. The breakfast was better too. In this one, there was only pancakes and coffee. No other choice. I've spend less money in a 5-star hotel in Las Vegas than in this hostel.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Staff was very friendly, but we never did get any housekeeping service during our stay that was supposed to be included with the private room. We never did get a stopper for the bath tub, but the shower worked fine. The bathroom, towels, and sheets were very clean. There was lots of dust in the room - there were little piles on the carpet in the corners of the room. There were more amenities in the hostel than what I expected for the price. It's in a great location in Nob Hill.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Thanks Amsterdam hostel for making my first visit to San Francisco a great one! Staff was friendly and warm from the many times I called to ask for details, they never got fed up which I truly appreciated as I was booking day before my trip! I arrived early, they let me store my luggage and take a nice warm shower. The rooms are really clean and beds comfy. I wish they had a less rate for weekdays as I paid the same amount both for weekend and weeknight. Great location! I will be back!
  • 91%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Anonymous South Africa
  • Very friendly staff, many available amenities which were a big plus!
  • 94%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous France
  • Breakfast was pretty basic but it's free, so who can complain? Good location, the rooms have a "vintage" charm that's kinda cool. It's one of the most expensive hostels I've stayed in, but that's San Fran for you. Wifi was decent.
  • 71%
  • 19 May 2015 Avril Canada
  • 1. The entire hostel had some unpleasant smell (something like number 2) 2. We stayed in a 4-people dorm, but the upper bed of the bunk bed has no guard or fence to prevent from falling! What if you fall down from the bed? 3. The bunk bed is so shaky, even from the bunk bed standard. 4. The kicktchen closes too early at 10pm. If you want to lock your stuff, bring a lock with you. The front desk will not keep help you secure them (other than luggage)
  • 57%
  • 04 May 2015 Hiroshi Japan
  • Facilities need maintainance
  • 63%
  • 02 May 2015 GUSTAVO Mexico
  • Good price and good localization.
  • 80%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Selma
  • The hostel is located in a nice area and good to reach. The staff is really friendly and the house is nice. Unfortenately, our room was in the basement and smelled weird of smoke. The rest of the house was clean and full of nice people.
  • 71%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Friederike Germany
  • Really nice hostel and lovely staff. Everything was super clean, and it was great having an ensuite bathroom off a dorm room. Only problem was the lack of an elevator, and the fact that its a bit of a climb up a hill! But fine if you don't have a giant suitcase ;)
  • 89%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »