See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 74% from 57 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent service and location. Very inviting and clean, would recommend to friends.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Lance USA
  • Hostel is located on a hill, good location, but a few block trek from nearby BART station. Many homeless around the area. Bunk beds could be better. Wifi does not really grab signal in rooms, have to use in common area. Can't comment on breakfast, since I didn't have any.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They cancelled my reservation as there were no rooms. I want a refund of your booking fee as all you did was waste my time and money.
  • 60%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Willow American Samoa
  • The negative reviews worried me before I arrived. I don't no what people expect when they book a cheap place to stay. This place was affordable and clean and in a fantastic location. I found it excellent value for money without compromising on quality.
  • 89%
  • 20 Jun 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • The kitchen was very dirty, uneducated employees, integration programs among the guests were never made​​. It has a lot to improve.
  • 43%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Luciano Brazil
  • Good for the price. Hostel like a hostel, good enough to sleep couple nights if you don't care about luxury and dont mind strangers sleeping next to you and dont expect too much. Staff was nice and helpful, location very nice.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • WIFI internet is problematic. Kitchen area under renovation and unusable. Staff is helpful.
  • 77%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Friendly staff. They have a room where you can store your luggage if you're early for check in, so you can explore SF without having to drag around your bags. Stayed in a 6 female dorm ensuite. No AC and the shower's water pressure was very low, at least in our dorm. Lockers in dorm room, bring pad lock! They offer free breakfast, pancakes, which you make for yourself. They have a stove, microwave, a fridge etc in the kitchen. Great location, walking distance to the BART train connected to SFO.
  • 86%
  • 27 May 2014 Evelina Sweden
  • This hostel was smelling bad and old. The carpets weren't looking nice. The door in our bathroom was closing with a very loud noise, always waking everyone up, and didn't even have a lock. I told front desk about that, only to be woken up by a Chinese handyman who has simply walked in the next morning at 9-10 am, opened the door and turned all the lights on - I didn't even hear him knocking as I was sleeping - he said "next time answer the door", excuse me?! They never fixed it! Horrible kitchen
  • 77%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Good location, provided you avoid the one or two dodgy streets. Close to everything. Bunk beds needed a ladder...great having pub crawls, and lets you know about social events around. Staff were good, and quite helpful.
  • 74%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Hannah Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »