See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 74% from 61 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel! Very friendly staff and all necessary facilities are available. Be aware that the breakfast consists of pancakes only (that you have to bake by yourself), but with adding a bought apple/banana it is a nice breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Free breakfast: pancake, but you have to make it yourself, and that's the only thing you got. Bathroom: there's no hook on the door, which would have made life a lot easier. Atmosphere: no quite hours policy, people just scream either in their room or corridor or patio at midnight, and the room is not sound proof at all. Cleanliness: there is a bin in the corridor just outside our room, and I saw the garbage AROUND it gathering by day without sign of ever being cleaned up...
  • 60%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • Second floor bed has no bounder what if i fall down?
  • 69%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Jeongwoon South Korea
  • Nice atmosphere and staff. Unfortunately the heating system was just turned on for a specific time period and the windows in my room were very old and did not close correctly. Therefore it was really cold during the nights. The rooms itself was clean and cleaned every day, but in the shower was mold. All in all the value for money was acceptable.
  • 69%
  • 12 Dec 2015 Katharina Germany
  • Spent 5 days at this hostel with my friends! There are no room service, you have to make your own food and we found 2 slugs in the bathroom. Really disguting and unfriendly staff.
  • 34%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Lais Brazil
  • Nice hostel, good location ! The private room for 2 is more than enough for students and the facilities are nice (pancakes in the morning) ! I really appreciated this time
  • 77%
  • 22 Nov 2015 Anonymous France
  • Anoyng rule about kitchen schedule! Just that....everything elses was super grear
  • 86%
  • 11 Nov 2015 juan
  • Cheapest hostel that I found in SF but would not recommend it. Nice people hopefully but beds are old things without fence for the upper bed. Leaking bathtub, no lockers for the bags, just not clean and staff not concerned at all. There is a much better hostel in the same street for a little bit more expensive but definitely worth it.
  • 51%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Anonymous France
  • Exceptional
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very good location. Staff was friendly. A very convenient place to stay for little money.
  • 91%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »