See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 73% from 48 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wifi was spotty, I had to go outside my room often to get a signal. I recommend fixing that
  • 91%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Every staff are so bad; not friendly, not helpful, not kind. I cant recommend for anyone. It was a just cheap one. They lied when we checked in. We booked for 5 people, bud they said we booked for 6. They are terrible.
  • 49%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It was a good location and a nice cozy room with large lockers, but the shower didn't work at all and I had to bathe in the sink! Also, the electrical outlets were often coming off the walls and the bathroom light stopped working my last night. Otherwise it was nice, perhaps I just got a bad room.
  • 66%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Tia Canada
  • I don`t recommend to anybody this hostel. Because the bathroom was broken and a light in the bathroom was not working. Additionally these staff are not helpful and always tell a lie to me. I will never stay in this hostel.
  • 49%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Staff does not care about customers, cannot comprehend basic math, and do not take complaints seriously.
  • 60%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Hunter USA
  • Just a really cool place.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jan 2014 Fanie Canada
  • Not a bad hostel if you're on a budget, however it was quite noisy during the night and we didn't have hot water for two days
  • 77%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Luke Australia
  • An lower-average place. The location is good, not so far from Market St., Downtown SF. Each dorm room has each bathroom, so you don't have to wait for long time for shower. It was very cold tho they have heater in rooms and blankets are very thin. You should ask front staff for extra one. The biggest problem was an upper bed. THERE WAS NO RUDDERS TO GO UP, so I had to climb the bed, which became an problem when I went back in late night... breakfast was pancake only.
  • 69%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Really Loved the Convenience of the location ..Wonderful kind staff, however I bring a bananna to put in your pancake mix being that is all that is offered for breakfast.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I never have been before like a this. For me, It was very nice
  • 100%
  • 25 Dec 2013 choonghee South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »