See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 72% from 50 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice hostel with good location!
  • 89%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Pauliina Finland
  • The hostel is pretty nice. The rooms are big enough, have power outlets and bathrooms, which is great. There is access to the kitchen, internet, laundry machines. The rooms have quite old furniture but it ads a little bit of charm actually.
  • 71%
  • 11 Mar 2016 Justyna Poland
  • Rats and Mice, Smell of Mold, Dirty and Smelly Rooms. Overcrowded rooms. Staff is rude, and unprofessional.
  • 40%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Bashar USA
  • Shower was broken, lights kept flickering, felt very claustrophobic
  • 57%
  • 20 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel! Very friendly staff and all necessary facilities are available. Be aware that the breakfast consists of pancakes only (that you have to bake by yourself), but with adding a bought apple/banana it is a nice breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Free breakfast: pancake, but you have to make it yourself, and that's the only thing you got. Bathroom: there's no hook on the door, which would have made life a lot easier. Atmosphere: no quite hours policy, people just scream either in their room or corridor or patio at midnight, and the room is not sound proof at all. Cleanliness: there is a bin in the corridor just outside our room, and I saw the garbage AROUND it gathering by day without sign of ever being cleaned up...
  • 60%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • Second floor bed has no bounder what if i fall down?
  • 69%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Jeongwoon South Korea
  • Nice atmosphere and staff. Unfortunately the heating system was just turned on for a specific time period and the windows in my room were very old and did not close correctly. Therefore it was really cold during the nights. The rooms itself was clean and cleaned every day, but in the shower was mold. All in all the value for money was acceptable.
  • 69%
  • 12 Dec 2015 Katharina Germany
  • Spent 5 days at this hostel with my friends! There are no room service, you have to make your own food and we found 2 slugs in the bathroom. Really disguting and unfriendly staff.
  • 34%
  • 03 Dec 2015 Lais Brazil
  • Nice hostel, good location ! The private room for 2 is more than enough for students and the facilities are nice (pancakes in the morning) ! I really appreciated this time
  • 77%
  • 22 Nov 2015 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »