See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 69% from 40 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 64%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very poorly equipped kitchen! Top bunk beds have no rails
  • 60%
  • 27 May 2016 Nora Germany
  • Room was lit, other guests were loud at times, and poor etiquette turning light on while I was sleeping. Great shower, clean bed, cheap fare, enjoyable crowd, great front desk guy, within walking distance of walgreens 2 charges I wasnt expecting since I didn't stay 2 of the nights I had booked
  • 69%
  • 04 May 2016 Tristan USA
  • We reserved a 6 bed private room. I was before in several Hostels and in my opinion this one has been the better one since now. They give you towels and that`s new for me, besides the atmosphere is very quite, perfect to rest after walking SF. The kitchen always crowded, but if you want avoid that, you better wake up earlier. The staff was perfect, they received my amazon packages without problem and when we arrived later they saved our food in their fridge. Remember, this`s a hostel not a hotel
  • 94%
  • 01 May 2016 ESTELA Mexico
  • Nice hostel with good location!
  • 89%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Pauliina Finland
  • The hostel is pretty nice. The rooms are big enough, have power outlets and bathrooms, which is great. There is access to the kitchen, internet, laundry machines. The rooms have quite old furniture but it ads a little bit of charm actually.
  • 71%
  • 11 Mar 2016 Justyna Poland
  • Rats and Mice, Smell of Mold, Dirty and Smelly Rooms. Overcrowded rooms. Staff is rude, and unprofessional.
  • 40%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Bashar USA
  • Shower was broken, lights kept flickering, felt very claustrophobic
  • 57%
  • 20 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Nice hostel! Very friendly staff and all necessary facilities are available. Be aware that the breakfast consists of pancakes only (that you have to bake by yourself), but with adding a bought apple/banana it is a nice breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Free breakfast: pancake, but you have to make it yourself, and that's the only thing you got. Bathroom: there's no hook on the door, which would have made life a lot easier. Atmosphere: no quite hours policy, people just scream either in their room or corridor or patio at midnight, and the room is not sound proof at all. Cleanliness: there is a bin in the corridor just outside our room, and I saw the garbage AROUND it gathering by day without sign of ever being cleaned up...
  • 60%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • Second floor bed has no bounder what if i fall down?
  • 69%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Jeongwoon South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »