See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 71 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Anoyng rule about kitchen schedule! Just that....everything elses was super grear
  • 86%
  • 11 Nov 2015 juan
  • Cheapest hostel that I found in SF but would not recommend it. Nice people hopefully but beds are old things without fence for the upper bed. Leaking bathtub, no lockers for the bags, just not clean and staff not concerned at all. There is a much better hostel in the same street for a little bit more expensive but definitely worth it.
  • 51%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Anonymous France
  • Exceptional
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very good location. Staff was friendly. A very convenient place to stay for little money.
  • 91%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Thanks for the up-graded room when my dorm wasn't ready.
  • 80%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Tyrus USA
  • Invoice was misleading. Expected two double beds, however, we were charged per person for 1 room with 1 bed. Also, it was not clear that tax was not included in the quoted price.
  • 54%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Neil Canada
  • It was just disgusting to stay in this hostel. It smells. everything is dated and smelly. I have stayed in at least 25 hostels in my life. This was the most... I can not even describe it!! :( We had to move after one day even though we booked 4 nights.
  • 29%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Marie José Denmark
  • Nice place
  • 91%
  • 27 Jun 2015 john USA
  • I've been in Hostels in Europe (Madrid, London, Paris, Rome). The non-private rooms were better than the twin private room I've stayed in Amsterdam Hostel. The breakfast was better too. In this one, there was only pancakes and coffee. No other choice. I've spend less money in a 5-star hotel in Las Vegas than in this hostel.
  • 63%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Staff was very friendly, but we never did get any housekeeping service during our stay that was supposed to be included with the private room. We never did get a stopper for the bath tub, but the shower worked fine. The bathroom, towels, and sheets were very clean. There was lots of dust in the room - there were little piles on the carpet in the corners of the room. There were more amenities in the hostel than what I expected for the price. It's in a great location in Nob Hill.
  • 74%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »