See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 77% from 20 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall great experience! Rooms and bathroom were clean. My roommates were courteous and friendly as well as staff. Nice location in downtown San Francisco.
  • 80%
  • 01 Mar 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Overall the best hostel experience I had in a long time. The service is kind and available and the shared bathroom in my room is also very new. The kitchen downstairs can be cleaner.. but the free pancakes in the morning are definitely something special to have to get to know people and potentially making plans with them for the same day.
  • 94%
  • 12 Feb 2017 Anonymous Italy
  • It was raining all week and the door had a leak in our private room so we had to put towels down every day to soak up the water. Bit expensive for the quality of the room and venue but overall an ok place to stay.
  • 57%
  • 09 Jan 2017 Richard Australia
  • The best hostel i have ever stayed! The staffs are very nice and very catering. Breakfast is good, really happy they have fruits! The atmosphere is really good too. The only thing is that there isn't many plugins in the room and not a plugin for upper bed, that cause some inconvenience. Overall, it's a great hostel and I would definitely come back if I visit Seattle again!
  • 100%
  • 22 Dec 2016 Hiu Woon Daphne Hong Kong
  • You get to make your own pankcakes. The beds are bunkbeds, but only slightly worst than aaaaany other hostel. Noisy outside, but in a jovial, 'youths on vacation' vibe. It's also across from the Academy of Arts, right near the A.C.T., Curran, and the Marine's Memorial Theatre. I stayed and walked to First and Mission every morning. Bear in mind - maps don't show hills automatically. Taylor is one of the steepest in SF.
  • 94%
  • 20 Nov 2016 Jamie USA
  • Location is easy to travel around the city the prices is just reasonable
  • 74%
  • 28 Oct 2016 Suphin Thailand
  • This hostel is in a great location. Don't expect much comfort or cleanliness because you won't find it here. Not a great atmosphere either
  • 54%
  • 21 Oct 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • The pillows were so bad, they need some fluffing up. Location was good. They should inform you that you had to make your own pancakes. Nice to have games and movies free of charge.
  • 60%
  • 03 Sep 2016 Linda Sweden
  • Time check in too late (i think he should before 3pm)
  • 66%
  • 24 Aug 2016 Anonymous
  • Such a nice and cozy hostel with great common spaces, a big & clean kitchen, a friendly staff and spacious, clean bedrooms! I'm definitely going to recommend this hostel and stay there some beautiful day when I get back to SF. Thank you so much, Amsterdam Hostel!
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »