See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 75% from 66 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great!!!
  • 100%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Mihaela Romania
  • it was very nice to meet all of staff who were really helpful and nicer to everyone. I really appreciated that they were help me through my vacation in SF Thanks alot!!
  • 77%
  • 02 Oct 2014 yunlip South Korea
  • It was good. Thanks again.
  • 89%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Zsolt-Janos
  • one of the guys working on the reception was kind of really stupid, other than this if you are not expecting something more than a hostel it's good for you. Good downtown location, accessible to everywhere. They have coffee/tea and crepe for breakfast.
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • The room was OK. Except the actual location of the room. It was right next to the community kitchen and the eating area. It kind of felt like the room for people who would work there. The staff was nice, but I really didn't think they needed to remove our bedsheets after the first night. When I spoke to the front desk, I learned they should not have been in the room until after we left. So everyone felt a little "violated" with all our stuff out and no lockers or safe in he room.
  • 66%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Quiet and very helpful staff. Great place for the money. Offered if you wanted tours about the city. I'm always impress with this place. Thank you
  • 89%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Michele
  • I didn't go but they charge me the same cause I didn't remember to cancel the reservation and they not even call.
  • 54%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Santiago Argentina
  • Although Amsterdam Hostel has a great location, atmosphere was sub-par and the breakfast option (making your own pancakes) was less-than-ideal. Good value for the money though.
  • 74%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Got bed bugs!! Even brought then back home. Search an awful experience. Really disappointed by the manager that seamed to find this normal and did bit even offer a price reduction. A member of the staff took this so litly that told me "I just have to put moisturizing cream"
  • 54%
  • 24 Aug 2014 chantal Switzerland
  • Great place, great location. great staff(except the one waiting to clean your sheets when you have to check-out). It's a nice calm hostel, if you want to be with party people take an other one but for couple it's perfect.
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »