See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 71% from 23 reviews

  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You get to make your own pankcakes. The beds are bunkbeds, but only slightly worst than aaaaany other hostel. Noisy outside, but in a jovial, 'youths on vacation' vibe. It's also across from the Academy of Arts, right near the A.C.T., Curran, and the Marine's Memorial Theatre. I stayed and walked to First and Mission every morning. Bear in mind - maps don't show hills automatically. Taylor is one of the steepest in SF.
  • 94%
  • 20 Nov 2016 Jamie USA
  • Location is easy to travel around the city the prices is just reasonable
  • 74%
  • 28 Oct 2016 Suphin Thailand
  • This hostel is in a great location. Don't expect much comfort or cleanliness because you won't find it here. Not a great atmosphere either
  • 54%
  • 21 Oct 2016 Anonymous Argentina
  • The pillows were so bad, they need some fluffing up. Location was good. They should inform you that you had to make your own pancakes. Nice to have games and movies free of charge.
  • 60%
  • 03 Sep 2016 Linda Sweden
  • Time check in too late (i think he should before 3pm)
  • 66%
  • 24 Aug 2016 Anonymous
  • Such a nice and cozy hostel with great common spaces, a big & clean kitchen, a friendly staff and spacious, clean bedrooms! I'm definitely going to recommend this hostel and stay there some beautiful day when I get back to SF. Thank you so much, Amsterdam Hostel!
  • 94%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • Very poorly equipped kitchen! Top bunk beds have no rails
  • 60%
  • 27 May 2016 Nora Germany
  • Room was lit, other guests were loud at times, and poor etiquette turning light on while I was sleeping. Great shower, clean bed, cheap fare, enjoyable crowd, great front desk guy, within walking distance of walgreens 2 charges I wasnt expecting since I didn't stay 2 of the nights I had booked
  • 69%
  • 04 May 2016 Tristan USA
  • We reserved a 6 bed private room. I was before in several Hostels and in my opinion this one has been the better one since now. They give you towels and that`s new for me, besides the atmosphere is very quite, perfect to rest after walking SF. The kitchen always crowded, but if you want avoid that, you better wake up earlier. The staff was perfect, they received my amazon packages without problem and when we arrived later they saved our food in their fridge. Remember, this`s a hostel not a hotel
  • 94%
  • 01 May 2016 ESTELA Mexico
  • Nice hostel with good location!
  • 89%
  • 08 Apr 2016 Pauliina Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »