See other San Francisco properties

Amsterdam Hostel

749 Taylor Street, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 76% from 75 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • 1. The entire hostel had some unpleasant smell (something like number 2) 2. We stayed in a 4-people dorm, but the upper bed of the bunk bed has no guard or fence to prevent from falling! What if you fall down from the bed? 3. The bunk bed is so shaky, even from the bunk bed standard. 4. The kicktchen closes too early at 10pm. If you want to lock your stuff, bring a lock with you. The front desk will not keep help you secure them (other than luggage)
  • 57%
  • 04 May 2015 Hiroshi Japan
  • Facilities need maintainance
  • 63%
  • 02 May 2015 GUSTAVO Mexico
  • Good price and good localization.
  • 80%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Selma
  • The hostel is located in a nice area and good to reach. The staff is really friendly and the house is nice. Unfortenately, our room was in the basement and smelled weird of smoke. The rest of the house was clean and full of nice people.
  • 71%
  • 22 Apr 2015 Friederike Germany
  • Really nice hostel and lovely staff. Everything was super clean, and it was great having an ensuite bathroom off a dorm room. Only problem was the lack of an elevator, and the fact that its a bit of a climb up a hill! But fine if you don't have a giant suitcase ;)
  • 89%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • the room is clean. you can get your clean sheet and towel every day. the cost is the lowest downtown. the kitchen is also good. you can feel free to prepare your own meal there. I will choose to stay here again in the future.
  • 80%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Nice place, good value, friendly staff, computers in the basement is a plus when you don't have your own.
  • 94%
  • 29 Mar 2015 lars henrik Norway
  • I had an excellent experience here. It may not be the most up to date place to stay but the price and location are unbeatable. The staff were very friendly, my room was clean, the people I met made my stay a hundred times more enjoyable, and the value for my money was incredible. I would highly recommend Amsterdam Hostel to anyone. For the price of a weeks stay I could have maybe paid for one night at one of the regular hotels a few blocks away.
  • 89%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Internet wifi was not good. wifi環境はよくない。繋がったり、繋がらなかったり。
  • 66%
  • 04 Mar 2015 shuji Japan
  • Cool place, good vibe and met some great people. It's not as modern as some of the other hostels nearby, but on the other hand it's less than half the price. Don't understand the negative reviews: would have loved to have stayed longer had they had availability.
  • 86%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Anton
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »